Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
When I want chocolate cake, nine times out of ten, this is the cake I make. Whether eaten plain, or my favourite way, which is sandwiched with dulce de leche and topped with chocolate ganache, it's brilliant! One little thing though: the directions are fine if you want to serve your cake in the pan, but if you want to unmould it for prettier presentation, your pan will need to be greased and floured, or brushed with bakers' secret (which is no secret: combine equal parts oil, shortening, and flour). This means you should mix the cake in a separate bowl, but hey, it's still really easy and cleanup is minimal. Now! For all you people nervous about the vinegar: there is a simple reason why it's there. For a cake to rise, you need an alkali, and an acid. When the alkali and the acid combine, they react with each other, giving off carbon dioxide, which is what makes the cake rise. All cakes other than yeast cakes are risen this way. The alkali/acid deal is present in baking powder (already mixed for you), and in recipes that call for baking soda (alkali) and, say, cream of tartar (acid). In this case, you have baking soda (alkali) and vinegar (acid). They react with each other and make the cake rise. You CANNOT taste the vinegar, so relax, make the cake, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
741 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
YUM!! the first 4 time i make it i added chocolate chips YYUMMMMM it's the best chocolate cake i've ever tasted!!!!!! i usually make half the recipe to fit in a small round pan, i also tried making it white by added cornstarch instead of cocoa powder and adding a tsp. orange zest, it was a beautiful orange cake!! Thanks sooooo much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! My son was dignosed with an egg allergy about 6 months ago and I've been dreading his birthday ever since (it's this weekend)! I've been trying to get a decent egg free cake ever since. Last night in utter desperation I googled "egg free chocolate cake" (all my soon to be 3 year old wants for his birthday is an "chocolate Thomas (the Tank Engine) cake" - I found a 3-d train cake pan but every cake has flopped until today - until I tried the crazy cake - IT IS PERFECT - words cannot thank you enough! The only thing I would like to do now is try how to make the subsitition that amatullah suggested (cornstarch and orange zest instead of the cocoa) for an orange cake for my daughter's birthday - so if anyone knows how much cornstarch to use PRETTY PLEASE let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This cake was delicious! My father is undergoing chemotherapy and is on an extremely strict diet. He couldn't eat eggs, so the recipe was a good base. He also couldn't eat vinegar or chocolate, so Amatullah's suggestion about the orange cake conversion was great. I substituted the cocoa with cornstarch and the vinegar with orange juice, and I added a teaspoon of orange zest. I also exchanged the baking soda for baking powder. It turned out perfectly! If you're making the orange cake, I would suggest frosting it with Adora Marchi's "Mom's Buttercream Frosting," sprinkling a pinch of lemon zest over the frosting, and putting a slice of fresh orange on top. Be sure to cool the cake completely before applying the frosting. Thanks Amy and Amatullah; you made my father's birthday very memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Wonderfully moist & flavorful - you'd never know this was egg free! I usually halve the recipe & bake in an 8" pan for about 30-35 minutes (test for doneness). Great when you want cake but not a huge panful. Also makes great cupcakes (which freeze easily!) I love how easy it is to change the flavors! Our favorite is orange - just omit the cocoa & vinegar & use orange juice in place of the water (same amount as called for in recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I was also worried about the vinegar in the cake so I very tenatively tasted the batter...couldn't taste a bit of it. I am a total chocolate fiend and have been placed on a special diet where I can't have any dairy products, I know what a chocolate cake should taste like and I was not disappointed in the least. I will most likely continue to make this recipe even after I can eat normal foods again! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
One of the better egg free chocolate cakes!! Add 1/3 bag of milk chocolate chips to the batter and it is spectacular. It really adds a lot to the chocolate sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My mother made this cake for the last 40 years that I am aware of and it is always the best. There is one difference in her recipe though, instead of two cups of water we use 2 cups of cool coffee, makes a BIG difference, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This cake tastes like any other great chocolate cake, which is why it's absolutely fabulous. No eggs, super easy and quick, and it tastes like you spent the entire afternoon making it. I tried it once with cake flour and it was so moist like it came out of a mix. It's what I always make now when I'm having guests and am pressed for time. This will be the only chocolate cake I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
this is an unbelievable cake! it was very moist. the taste right out of the oven was a little off...but if you let it sit for a day in the fridge all that will change and you will have a wonderfully moist and chocolately cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States