Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is the families all time favorite cake ever. I follow the recipe but sometimes I will add 1/2 tsp almond flavor along with the vanilla (try it u will love it). Also, I frost with a fudge frosting that is awesome (I also add a little almond flavor to the frosting too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Mcnire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
i have been making this cake for over 40 years. it's a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have several severe allergies, eggs being one of them...I keep trying to find good cake/cupcake recipes, but with no luck! After reading the reviews of this one, I decided to give it a try and it turned out perfectly! My family (none of them have allergies) says it tastes identical to regular chocolate cake with eggs, they can't stop eating it! I baked at 350 as the recipe says for 36 minutes. It's even better the next few days! Thank you so much to whoever submitted this recipe, you've finally allowed me to enjoy cake after all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It just seemed kind of dull. It's easy enough to make and it looks just fine, but it didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I agree that this was "Crazy," easy and fun to make and turned out moist but like the other few critics, I feel the chocolate level is far too low, even after substituting some water with coffee. I would recommend at least doubling the cocoa in future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My mom (who grew up during the Depression) made this all the time when I was a child in the 1950s and 1960s. She made a smaller version (same ingredients) that she baked in an 8-inch square pan. We called it "Funny Cake." It's definitely a winner--and great for those with egg or dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a simple ingredient good cake. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My mom used to make this cake all the time. She did come from the depression era, too. I like sweet chocolate cake and this one's for me! Add some red food coloring and you have a Red Velvet Cake... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This vegan cake is better than most box mixes. However it lacks the depth of flavor that butter and eggs usually provide in a home-made cake. After the first time I made it I've compensated by doubling the vanilla and cocoa, and this is now a favorite around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My "go to" chocolate cake. It's easier and tastier than a boxed cake mix! I like to make cupcakes with it and pipe on any kind of frosting -- buttercream, chocolate buttercream, or peanut butter frosting. But this cake is delicious even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States