Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I grew up eating this cake and I love it. I would ask for it every year the only thing I notice is that the timeing is wrong it can take an hour to an hour and 15 min to back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My mom has been making this cake since I was very young, and still, it is my go-to EASY recipe for a dense, moist chocolate cake. I frost it with a decorator icing with almond flavoring... If you REALLY want a decadent treat, drizzle some chocolate ganache on top and let it set. Yumm-0h! Oh, and if you want fat free, substitute apple sauce for the oil. If you want less sugar, just put half the sugar in it. It really is a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIDI402

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
GREAT chocolate cake!!! You dont even miss the egg or dairy! I did not mix in the baking pan like instructed. I used 2 seperate bowls; one for mixing the dry ingredients and the other for mixing the wet, then I combined them together. Made a little bit of cream cheese frosting and it was awesome. Even my super picky toddler loved this, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This cake is awesome. Moist and delicious. One of my fav. chocolate cakes, and hey its vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have made this cake many times as written but when I needed to bake a cake that was not only egg free but chocolate free I substituted the cocoa power for the grated rind of one orange. It was fantastic! Everyone loved it! I used the juice of the orange in the icing and decorated the cake with candied orange and lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist, fluffy and not too sweet. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great cake! I made this for one reason, I had no baking powder on hand and I needed to make a cake fast! I remembered having this once before and I knew that the vinegar would be my "baking powder" for the moment. I turned this recipe into about 23 cupcakes (1/4 cup batter). At the party, I watched these cupcakes go one by one and I even saw people go back for a second. Great! I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
A neighbor of ours taught my mother how to make this cake back in the 70's, the only difference is that it was made in an iron skillet. I remembered it the other day and searched for the recipe on this site and low and behold here it was. I remembered the ingredients just didn't know the quantities. I made it for two 9 yr. old's and they loved it. One boy told me that he didn't like chocolate but after trying this cake,, he'd changed his mind. He said it was the best cake he'd ever eaten. The cake was moist and rich and just as wonderful as I remembered it from when I was a kid. Thank you so much for the recipe, it's definitely going be the only chocolate cake recipe I use! I frosted it with the rich chocolate frosting from this site and it really was just phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
1st time I ever made a chocolate cake from scratch, was very easy and came out very moist and nice. I did add choc and butterscotch chips, so reduced the sugar just a bit and subsituted the water with coffee. will definately be making again, will also be trying the white vrsin with white choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I loved it. My mom and sister are experimenting with a vegan diet so I made this for dessert one night. It's nice to be able to still enjoy your food even when changing your lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States