Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have now made this twice, and both times it was delicious and very moist. Lots of compliments, stacked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is the families all time favorite cake ever. I follow the recipe but sometimes I will add 1/2 tsp almond flavor along with the vanilla (try it u will love it). Also, I frost with a fudge frosting that is awesome (I also add a little almond flavor to the frosting too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Mcnire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
i have been making this cake for over 40 years. it's a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have several severe allergies, eggs being one of them...I keep trying to find good cake/cupcake recipes, but with no luck! After reading the reviews of this one, I decided to give it a try and it turned out perfectly! My family (none of them have allergies) says it tastes identical to regular chocolate cake with eggs, they can't stop eating it! I baked at 350 as the recipe says for 36 minutes. It's even better the next few days! Thank you so much to whoever submitted this recipe, you've finally allowed me to enjoy cake after all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It just seemed kind of dull. It's easy enough to make and it looks just fine, but it didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I feel the chocolate level is far too low, even after substituting some water with coffee. I would recommend at least doubling the cocoa in future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My mom (who grew up during the Depression) made this all the time when I was a child in the 1950s and 1960s. She made a smaller version (same ingredients) that she baked in an 8-inch square pan. We called it "Funny Cake." It's definitely a winner--and great for those with egg or dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a simple ingredient good cake, especially since it didn't contain eggs, butter or milk. I had cupcakes out of this and had them in the oven for 18 minutes. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My mom used to make this cake all the time. She did come from the depression era, too. I like sweet chocolate cake and this one's for me! Add some red food coloring and you have a Red Velvet Cake... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This vegan cake is better than most box mixes. However it lacks the depth of flavor that butter and eggs usually provide in a home-made cake. After the first time I made it I've compensated by doubling the vanilla and cocoa, and this is now a favorite around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States