Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday, since her best friend has an egg allergy. I was nervous about it, but it turned out great! I subbed in a cup of cold coffee for one cup of water, and I also made it in a mixing bowl and baked it in two 9" round pans so we could have a layer cake. It has wonderful flavor and is very moist and delicious. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is the chocolate cake recipe I learned to bake on! It makes me happy to find it here! We called it Whacky Cake and got the recipe from a family friend! It is literally the first cake I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed the directions exactly and what I ended up with will make you slap yo' mama. I made a vanilla butter cream frosting to go with it and tried very hard to wait for my kids to get home from school before trying it, but to no avail. I caved when it was still piping hot. Buttercream frosting: 1/3 cup margarine, 2 tsp real vanilla extract, 2.5 C powdered sugar, 2 tb sweetened condensed milk. Beat the margarine (yes margarine, not butter) and sugar til creamy, add the rest and beat for a min. YUM. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsfoolery74
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best chocolate cake I've ever made! It's very easy to make and clean up is simple. The first time I made it I cut it up in small squares and used it in a trifle with homemade vanilla pudding, and dark sweet cherries! It was delicious! Going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This recipe was amazing. Very very very moist. I didn't know a cake could be this moist. I also tweaked to by adding a cream cheese filling inside the batter marbled mixed. The chocolate flavor was very dark. Just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this exactly as written, except that I mixed it in a bowl so I could make 2 round layers. I used 2 - 9" pans, and they overflowed the pans, making a huge mess in my oven, then fell. I managed to salvage them, but they were kind of thin layers, which I filled and covered with "White Frosting" from this website. The texture of the cake was good, all things considered, but I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The first time we made this recipe as is and it was delicious but a giant pain to get out of the pan. We lost half the cake to sticky pan syndrome :) We have since tried it a few more times and so far our favorite enhancements are to use 2 cups of brewed cold vanilla or hazelnut coffee instead of water and toss in a handful of chocolate or peanut butter chips. We also mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the wet. This allows us to grease the pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have been looking for this recipe since I was 8 years old. My mother had me make this all the time when I was a kid. I never thought I would find it by name, "Crazy Cake"; lo and behold, there it was! Unusual ingredients, but always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've had better chocolate cakes, but for its simplicity and versatility, this one's a keeper. We don't eat a lot of eggs in our house, so we almost never have them on hand; this recipe's great for when we want cake but don't want to make a special trip to the grocery store. I followed one reviewer's advice and cut out the cocoa and replaced the water with an orange-mango juice blend, and it was very good! I've made three variations already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is my family's favorite cake!! I have made it for years as well as my mother and grandmother. In addition to chocolate chips, I have also made this recipe by omitting the oil and adding a can of cherry pie filling. I also place plastic wrap or tin foil over the pan soon after taking it out of the oven and allow it to cool covered. By doing this, it makes a "fudge-like" topping on its own! As always, we top each piece with whipped topping! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States