Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
i have been making this cake for over 40 years. it's a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have several severe allergies, eggs being one of them...I keep trying to find good cake/cupcake recipes, but with no luck! After reading the reviews of this one, I decided to give it a try and it turned out perfectly! My family (none of them have allergies) says it tastes identical to regular chocolate cake with eggs, they can't stop eating it! I baked at 350 as the recipe says for 36 minutes. It's even better the next few days! Thank you so much to whoever submitted this recipe, you've finally allowed me to enjoy cake after all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It just seemed kind of dull. It's easy enough to make and it looks just fine, but it didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I agree that this was "Crazy," easy and fun to make and turned out moist but like the other few critics, I feel the chocolate level is far too low, even after substituting some water with coffee. I would recommend at least doubling the cocoa in future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My mom (who grew up during the Depression) made this all the time when I was a child in the 1950s and 1960s. She made a smaller version (same ingredients) that she baked in an 8-inch square pan. We called it "Funny Cake." It's definitely a winner--and great for those with egg or dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a simple ingredient good cake. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My mom used to make this cake all the time. She did come from the depression era, too. I like sweet chocolate cake and this one's for me! Add some red food coloring and you have a Red Velvet Cake... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This vegan cake is better than most box mixes. However it lacks the depth of flavor that butter and eggs usually provide in a home-made cake. After the first time I made it I've compensated by doubling the vanilla and cocoa, and this is now a favorite around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My "go to" chocolate cake. It's easier and tastier than a boxed cake mix! I like to make cupcakes with it and pipe on any kind of frosting -- buttercream, chocolate buttercream, or peanut butter frosting. But this cake is delicious even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolalita
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The cake is VERY moist! The vegetable oil makes it super soft to the touch, though it nice, next time I might reduce the oil to 1/2 cup or 2/3 cup instead. It's hardly sweet, so it's okay to eat a big piece ;-). I made a white chocolate topping (though not perfect because I poured it very hot), it was still good. Topping recipe (1 cup (chocolate) chips (I used white), 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 tablespoons of butter, now melt in microwave. Once combined, add 1cup of powered sugar, mix well till incorporated, let cool off a little bit, then spread before it thickens too much. Enjoy!) I added red food coloring to one with sprinkles and other just pecans on top. I made this cake twice, I followed a reviewers advise to add strawberry jello and strawberries (chopped or puréed) and that was the biggest mistake ever!!! Leave the recipe as is, please, unless u like mushy-baby-food-like-cake, yuck, I can chew thank you. Anyway, beware it doesn't work. I was going to post a pick of it in the trash but decided against it. This recipe is easy and quick as is, especially when you run out if eggs & milk at home, but want dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States