Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've had better chocolate cakes, but for its simplicity and versatility, this one's a keeper. We don't eat a lot of eggs in our house, so we almost never have them on hand; this recipe's great for when we want cake but don't want to make a special trip to the grocery store. I followed one reviewer's advice and cut out the cocoa and replaced the water with an orange-mango juice blend, and it was very good! I've made three variations already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is my family's favorite cake!! I have made it for years as well as my mother and grandmother. In addition to chocolate chips, I have also made this recipe by omitting the oil and adding a can of cherry pie filling. I also place plastic wrap or tin foil over the pan soon after taking it out of the oven and allow it to cool covered. By doing this, it makes a "fudge-like" topping on its own! As always, we top each piece with whipped topping! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Finally, a great chocolate cake recipe, wow and it does not need eggs!!!!! Found my fav recipe. This cake tastes better the next day too, mmmmm so moust, delicious and chocolatey. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I made this for Thanksgiving, and the cake was gone in an hour! I did make a couple of changes, but only because of a lack of ingredients or extras laying around. Instead of using white sugar, I used light brown sugar (same amount). And since I didn't have any vinegar on hand, I found that four tablespoons of orange juice will suffice. And last but not least, I added a big handful of chocolate chips to the batter, and was finding little gooey bits in the cake the whole time I ate it :). The batter is thick, almost like you're making brownies. Don't bother too much about the wells, it's alright if something overflows. I used a 9x13 pan (don't forget to grease and flour it lightly). Don't worry about it being thin either, the finished product has a nice thickness to it! For me, I could see the cake was done when the top started cracking a bit. Remember, if using the toothpick test, you don't want the cake to be stone dry. This cake needs no frosting; it can be eaten on its own. But for presentation's sake, I dusted it with powdered sugar after giving up on trying to make butter-less frosting. If you break a little bit of the cracked top off the top of the cake after it comes out of the oven, it tastes just like a chocolate poptart. The cake was thick, and gooey, and delicious. Hope I helped. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TPMMLtd
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have used this recipe exclusively -- modified only for the pan sizes I've used -- since 1965. Everyone says the recipe product is FANTASTIC !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is the moistest cake I have ever made!!! The first time I made it I didn't frost it and it was gone before the end of the day. I also like to microwave a little hot fudge and pour it over the top just before serving.....also great with ice cream. I mixed everything in a bowl and then poured into pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
this is really good. I made for years it has been in our grandmothers home cook book. she added nuts and raisens to hers and some times if she didn't have pumpkin on hand she replaced it with squash . I personally like it better with squash because we grow more squash so I can my own and it is easier to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was an amazing cake. Very moist and simple to make. Mine was a bit dry but I am thinking it is my oven with the issue as it seems everything I cook lately is either over done or underdone in the suggested time. I will be making this again and often as I always have these ingredients on hand but don't always have eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
A deliciously moist cake we didn't even put icing on because it's great all by itself. My family raves about it & it's gone in a snap, I feel guilty to accept all the compliments because it's so easy & you don't even dirty a bowl or beaters to make it (or even grease the pan). Easier than a box mix...maybe it should be called Lazy Cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it for the first time today came out great. Very delicious, not overly sweet and very easy.Its one for the books, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States