Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
a neighbor gave me this exact recipe years ago and I have taken it to so many functions and always have to give out the recipe each time, as someone always asks for it. It is so easy to whip up, great if you don't have eggs, or are vegan. I always do mine in a bundt pan so I don't make the 3 wells. I do always add the vinegar last. so super moist. a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this as cupcakes - a half recipe makes 12, baked about 22 minutes. I wanted them with no frosting for a change, so to get some sweet and creamy chocolate richness without it I threw in a half cup of mini chocolate chips. If you don’t have eggs and you’re looking for a good, moist chocolate cake that’s neither too dark nor too light and not too sweet, so that it can support a sweet, rich butterceam frosting or none at all, that rises nicely, creating perfect cupcakes (in my case), then make this cake. If you DO have eggs and you want a cake like this, make this cake. Note: I did have eggs. I just think today's a crazy day which is why I chose this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I grew up eating this cake and I love it. I would ask for it every year the only thing I notice is that the timeing is wrong it can take an hour to an hour and 15 min to back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My mom has been making this cake since I was very young, and still, it is my go-to EASY recipe for a dense, moist chocolate cake. I frost it with a decorator icing with almond flavoring... If you REALLY want a decadent treat, drizzle some chocolate ganache on top and let it set. Yumm-0h! Oh, and if you want fat free, substitute apple sauce for the oil. If you want less sugar, just put half the sugar in it. It really is a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIDI402

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
GREAT chocolate cake!!! You dont even miss the egg or dairy! I did not mix in the baking pan like instructed. I used 2 seperate bowls; one for mixing the dry ingredients and the other for mixing the wet, then I combined them together. Made a little bit of cream cheese frosting and it was awesome. Even my super picky toddler loved this, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This cake is awesome. Moist and delicious. One of my fav. chocolate cakes, and hey its vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have made this cake many times as written but when I needed to bake a cake that was not only egg free but chocolate free I substituted the cocoa power for the grated rind of one orange. It was fantastic! Everyone loved it! I used the juice of the orange in the icing and decorated the cake with candied orange and lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist, fluffy and not too sweet. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great cake! I made this for one reason, I had no baking powder on hand and I needed to make a cake fast! I remembered having this once before and I knew that the vinegar would be my "baking powder" for the moment. I turned this recipe into about 23 cupcakes (1/4 cup batter). At the party, I watched these cupcakes go one by one and I even saw people go back for a second. Great! I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
A neighbor of ours taught my mother how to make this cake back in the 70's, the only difference is that it was made in an iron skillet. I remembered it the other day and searched for the recipe on this site and low and behold here it was. I remembered the ingredients just didn't know the quantities. I made it for two 9 yr. old's and they loved it. One boy told me that he didn't like chocolate but after trying this cake,, he'd changed his mind. He said it was the best cake he'd ever eaten. The cake was moist and rich and just as wonderful as I remembered it from when I was a kid. Thank you so much for the recipe, it's definitely going be the only chocolate cake recipe I use! I frosted it with the rich chocolate frosting from this site and it really was just phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States