Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It was so good that I should make this again. I made this all by myself. My mom didn't like the cake BUT she liked watching me make it.I used a can of frosting for it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2coolbray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
An incredible cake!!! My sister had the recipe for years and made it for everyone's birthday. Her recipe did have a cream filling layer between the cake and frosting. It was beyond incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made for my grandsons' birthday. He has allergies to milk etc. Everyone loved this cake, glazed it with orange juice mixed with powdered sugar. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My fiance is the one who threw this together- He combined all the dry ingredients, then made one 'well' in the middle for the wet ingredients and mixed it all up. He opted to use leftover coffee from the AM instead of water. Baked for 35 mins, which was a little too long- 30 mins would have been perfect. Didn't ice or glaze it. Had a slightly odd taste and texture after baking, but the next day both improved greatly and is comparable to a traditionally made chocolate cake. Just don't over-bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I helped my 12 year old make this cake and though it was moist and fluffy, it lacked taste. I think I will try this again and add chocolate chips as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paswifelaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This cake is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as written and the cake turned out perfectly. It was moist and very chocolate-y but not too rich. I topped it off with a drizzle of powdered sugar icing with a subtle orange flavour. (Better Homes & Gardens recipe. Make sure you keep tasting it or you could end up with a very orange-flavoured icing!) I served the cake at a birthday party and it was a hit. I'll definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe for young people to make - easy, great chocolate taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My mom would make this cake and she always made it so dramatic when she added the vinegar to the soda. Can't wait to make this with my grandchildren someday. Hint: replace water with coffee (my mom loved coffees and always had a cold pot sitting around) She also used coffee in the chocolate buttercream frosting we put on top (let the cake cool before you add frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This wonderful recipe saved me a trip the grocery store this morning. Remembering that my son needed cupcakes for school tomorrow, we decided to make chocolate cupcakes, and then realized we had just used the last of the milk and eggs on breakfast. I found this cake recipe, made it into cupcakes, and they were perfect. I have tried to adapt other chocolate cake recipes into cupcakes, and have had a few mishaps. But this recipe worked very well, baking up beautifully. I topped these with decorator frosting (from this site) and then made spiderwebs with melted chocolate. My son was thrilled with the outcome and I was thrilled that I saved a trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
an excellent recipe. it's fun to play around with things to use instead of 2 cups of water. i've tried fresh brewed coffee, a pureed can of beets (use everything from the can and about 1/4 cup water to equal 2 c), and almond milk with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States