Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it for the first time today came out great. Very delicious, not overly sweet and very easy.Its one for the books, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is the most versatile cake recipe in the world. I use it for every kind of cake. I'm writing this review waiting for apple cinnamon cupcakes made using this base (minus the cocoa). Try subbing 3/4 cup of brown sugar for 1 cup of the white, 1 cup of sweet apple cider for 1 cup of the water, adding 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp each ground ginger and clove and 3/4 cup dried currants. Fill the muffin cup (lined) halfway, add a tsp of apple pie filling, then put a tbsp of batter on top. Bake at 350 until they're done (I time nothing, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved the moist texture of this cake,and I can tell it would be amazing if I had been a slightly more experienced cook. I followed one reviewers suggestion to make the orange cake by substituting cornstarch for cocoa and orange juice for water. Well a 1/2 cup of cornstarch was awful in this. Texture was great, but flavor had horrid aftertaste. Follow the reviewer who suggested substituting flour for cocoa, not cornstarch. Apparently cornstarch is meant to be used in small amounts.......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This cake is great as is but if you decide to make it with Gluten Free Flour it comes out even better tasting, like a flourless cake so then its Egg Free, Dairy Free, and gluten free but tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is the only cake I make. I substitute water for coffee though. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake since I was a child - my grandma helped me the first time, a great memory for me. I love to substitute cold coffee for the water - wonderful flavor enhancer - try it! VERY moist cake, we usually do not frost this as it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Not only is it my favorite chocolate cake, it's incredibly simple AND vegan! I can't give it enough stars. The only modification I ever do is sometimes I add chocolate morsels, but the cake is really great even without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My nephew has an egg allergy. I was looking for a dessert for him. This cake was a perfect fit!! I was totally surprised by how moist and fluffy the cake turned out. I have looked for several years for a cake recipe better than the box cakes. This is it. The only thing I did different from the original recipe was I had to use two different cocoas. One was special dark and the other original Hershey's cocoa. I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wow! I made this two days in a row. First I made one as a bunt cake for a potluck (dusted with powdered sugar). The next day I made it as a half sheet cake for a birthday party. Everyone was amazed when I told them it was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never made an egg-free cake so I tried this one. It was simple to make and quite delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States