CraZee's Creamy Seafood and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty closely. It might not look like it but my changes were very minor...Packaged pasta, not fresh; no bell peppers, used home grown/home frozen green beans instead; parsley instead of cilantro (which I loathe). I heated the milk a bit 1st, then added the wine, it started to look very slightly curdled but with whisking the sour cream and the Parmesan in quickly it smoothed out. I used a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This was a delicious dish, my husband has said 3 times already how much he enjoyed this dinner tonight. I will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
It is interesting that the reviews run from great to bad. I had the same problem as Molly and Edie. The wine and milk curdled instantly when they were put together and it just got worse as it cooked. I proceeded anyway and the lumps got smaller but did not go away and it never did get thick. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblebeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. The family loves it. I don't use all the 'fresh' ingredients but even using boxed pasta and dried herbs it is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
although it did have a little flavor, i think the cilantro was a mistake; parsley would have been a better choice.the sauce dissapeared once poured over the pasta(angel hair) making a sticky mess. believe it or not, i think adding the flour caused that. i might try again omitting cilantro and adding the italian parsley and not adding the flour.we will see. if i do, i'll be sure to update my review.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaadunbar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Macde this last night, made a few changes and it was ouitstanding. I agree that the mixture of wine and milk do not cream well additionally the Parm cheese does not melt. I added a dollop of cream, a pat of butter, then dissoveled cornstarch n a litter water. Reduced the heat and added the cornstarch. Creamy, rich sauce!!! Sauted a fewwe sweet onion strips , red and green pepper strips, and a smashed garlic glove. when translucent, added shrimp, scallops and crab meat. Used thin spaghetti (that's all I had), Drained it, poured the seafood on the pasta and then the sauce on top of that. Very Good!!! Will definitely put this in the cook Book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I thought this was very tasty! I have experienced the hard blobs of milk/wine/cheese and found that if you start with the wine and simmer it, then once it has simmered add the cheese, then sour cream, then milk it doesn't blob up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just really didn't care for this. When you mix the wine and the milk together, it makes a scary-looking curdled mess; only later does it sort of come together after the other elements are added. And the wine gives the sauce a sour taste that is not to my liking. (I used a sauvignon blanc; maybe a less dry white would give a better result.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is the first recipe I've used off this site and I loved it. My boyfriend liked it so much, he ate it for breakfast the next day! We added mushrooms, garlic, oregano and basil, and left the cilantro out. We also added flour to thicken the sauce. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ballzonia
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
this should be renamed to crack creamy seafood & pasta...it's addicting...i've probably made it (seriously) 6 times within the last 2 weeks. hint though, make sure u like the wine u are cooking with, not a recipe u want to experiment with wine you've never had before..i need an intervention from this recipe lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Hi itz CraZee...the creator of the recipe. I see here that a few people had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken (it has never happened to me) so I read the recipe over....there SHOULD be a generous tbsp or so of flour in the wine cream mixture! My bad for forgetting it in the directions. Sorry, fellow cooks! With the flour added there should be no problem thickening the sauce. Well except for Molly...I have no idea what she did to clog a whisk LOL.......:-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States