Crayfish or Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is very good dish, especially for such a simple recipe. I used half and half and wisked in 1 tablespoon flour for thickness. In the future, I may try adding some fresh garlic. Also, if your cajun/creole seasoning doesn't have salt added, be sure to add some salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
This recipe is great. You may want to use linguene instead of angel hair pasta. Also make sure you use a cooking pot when reducing the cream, it likes to boil over. If you dont have enough crawfish scalops mixed in workds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Great recipe, although I would make two suggestions. 1) Use linguine instead of angel hair. 2) Most cajun seasonings are incredibly salty. Keep that in mind and half the amount of seasoning if salty foods bother you. And I'll also say that it took a very long time for my sauce to thicken. Allow over an hour when planning this meal! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eonstot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I halved the recipe and added sliced mushrooms, chopped tomatoes, crawfish and crab meat. I also followed the suggestions of other readers and added 1.5 cups cream and 1.5 cups half and half. It was pretty thick after reducing it but then adding the veggies and meat made it even thicker and I didn't have to add any starch. I used 1.5 tablespoons of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning and found it to be a bit too salty. Next time I will try just 1 tablespoon and or try another Cajun seasoning. Overall, it was very good and also looked nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Used shrimp and added onion,red and yellow pepper strips,fresh mushrooms and alittle garlic.Served it with a tossed salad and fresh bread.Our dinner guests swore it came from a seafood restaurant.Will use this recipe again and again.Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
excellant! impressed the entire family and neighbors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I made this for a potluck and it was well liked by all. I used penne instead of angel hair to make it easier to serve. I used shrimp and crab and used 3 cups cream, 3 cups half and half. It takes a long, long, long, time to reduce and turned out really wet. Next time I'll probably just use 1.5 cups cream and 1.5 cups half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very rich if you use heavy whipping cream. I started using half anf half and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Not very exciting - however I didn't follow the recipe. The shrimp was very bland; it would be much better using raw shrimp and sauteing in garlic. I halved the recipe and sauteed 1 red bell pepper and 1 tsp. garlic in the butter. Then added 2 c. half n half and 1 c. whole milk to that. Added salt to taste, steamed broccoli and added that with green onion and shrimp. My kids don't like spicy, so I didn't use the cajun seasoning. I like the sauce, but the shrimp was VERY boring. Next time I'll add raw shrimp with the bell pepper and saute, then remove the shrimp and make the recipe just as I did above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
It was really good. I wish that the recipe said to not cook the pasta until like 45 mintues into cooking the sauce because the sauce takes FOREVER. So everything was cold by the time it was ready. That really bothered me, but other than that, it had a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States