Crawford Polish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! I made it with sour cream and without rinsing the sauerkraut (as suggested by other reviewers), and it was delicious! Such a simple, tasty and satisfying casserole. Thanks so much for posting it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Amazing! Perfect comfort food!! I took someone's suggestion and used sour cream, although I'm sure it'd be just as great with regular cream. I'm about to go for my third helping--I just wanted to get this review in ASAP because I'm so excited about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
The first words out of my boyfriend after he tried this were "This is AWESOME!" He's the pickiest person EVER and my jaw dropped by his reaction over this. I used red-skinned potatoes..don't know if that made a difference. And I didn't rinse the sauerkraut. There was a nice juice on the bottom of the pan from it after it cooked. I used a bit more butter and some garlic powder also. Delicious. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We loved this. I used sour cream instead of cream and it gave this even more flavor. Next time, I'll probably add more potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I'm totally changing my review! I made this without draining the sauerkraut and with draining/rinsing the sauerkraut and I liked it the best without draining! At first I thought the opposite because it was a little tangyier than I would prefer it, but, if you drain and rinse the sauerkraut, it misses alot of flavor. So, I'm giving this 4 stars ... Still liked it alot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used russet potatoes, omitted the butter, and used bulk turkey sausage. I'm so used to cooking with onions, that I added a chopped one to the meat as I cooked it! This is a great new Shepard's Pie for me! The nutmeg is a great seasoning for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This has officially become one of my all-time favorite recipes! This is some of the best comfort food EVER! I didn't follow the portion of the recipe regarding the potatoes because I make mashed potatoes the way my mom makes them (no recipe, just wing it until it tastes the way you want). I also added a can of cream of mushroom/celery soup on top of the kielbasa. And I agree, the kraut gets lost so I also doubled the kraut. LOVE IT!!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
So all I did was cut up and cook the kielbasa with the sour kraut and some noodles then added sour cream and milk and cayenne pepper and it was really really good! I dunno if this qualifies as the same recipe even, but that's all I had to work with. My hubby really liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't have cream so used milk instead. This was easy, affordable, & I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I thought this was pretty good and an easy dish to make. I made it as written. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States