Crawford Polish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! I made it with sour cream and without rinsing the sauerkraut (as suggested by other reviewers), and it was delicious! Such a simple, tasty and satisfying casserole. Thanks so much for posting it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Amazing! Perfect comfort food!! I took someone's suggestion and used sour cream, although I'm sure it'd be just as great with regular cream. I'm about to go for my third helping--I just wanted to get this review in ASAP because I'm so excited about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
The first words out of my boyfriend after he tried this were "This is AWESOME!" He's the pickiest person EVER and my jaw dropped by his reaction over this. I used red-skinned potatoes..don't know if that made a difference. And I didn't rinse the sauerkraut. There was a nice juice on the bottom of the pan from it after it cooked. I used a bit more butter and some garlic powder also. Delicious. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We loved this. I used sour cream instead of cream and it gave this even more flavor. Next time, I'll probably add more potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I'm totally changing my review! I made this without draining the sauerkraut and with draining/rinsing the sauerkraut and I liked it the best without draining! At first I thought the opposite because it was a little tangyier than I would prefer it, but, if you drain and rinse the sauerkraut, it misses alot of flavor. So, I'm giving this 4 stars ... Still liked it alot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used russet potatoes, omitted the butter, and used bulk turkey sausage. I'm so used to cooking with onions, that I added a chopped one to the meat as I cooked it! This is a great new Shepard's Pie for me! The nutmeg is a great seasoning for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This has officially become one of my all-time favorite recipes! This is some of the best comfort food EVER! I didn't follow the portion of the recipe regarding the potatoes because I make mashed potatoes the way my mom makes them (no recipe, just wing it until it tastes the way you want). I also added a can of cream of mushroom/celery soup on top of the kielbasa. And I agree, the kraut gets lost so I also doubled the kraut. LOVE IT!!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
So all I did was cut up and cook the kielbasa with the sour kraut and some noodles then added sour cream and milk and cayenne pepper and it was really really good! I dunno if this qualifies as the same recipe even, but that's all I had to work with. My hubby really liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't have cream so used milk instead. This was easy, affordable, & I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I thought this was pretty good and an easy dish to make. I made it as written. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States