Crawfish Fettuccine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I am also from southern Louisiana and I LOVE this recipe!! It is so easy to make and delicious. I like trying it with different kinds of pasta. I like spicy food so I add a little extra cayenne pepper. I recommend using less than the recommended cayenne if you are not a fan of spicy or are serving it to guests. I skip the oven step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Beckham
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!! Unbelievable easy and definite restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
If I could rate this 10 stars, I would!! I love in Louisiana, so I know my Cajun dishes, and this is truly the BEST fettuccine I have ever had in my life!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! The only thing I do different us use 1/2 tsp cayenne instead of 2 tsp. YUMMY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I hate it when people change recipes, too but here goes: Trader Joe's sells 1 lb. bags of a combo of shrimp, scallops and calamari and I used that instead of crawfish and also added a couple shakes of Old Bay Seasoning - it was really outstanding - was a little skeptical of the Velveeta but it worked out great - thanks for a recipe I'll use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
My husband said this was delicious which means a lot. I subbed shrimp for the crawfish because I had those on hand. Will try crawfish next time. Loved the cayenne. We love spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was way good! I made as low fat as possible. I used low fat cream cheese and fat free half and half. I also used whole wheat fettuccine and served with whole wheat rolls I made. I also put shrimp along with some frozen crawfish meat that I had put in the freezer from a crawfish boil. This came out so good...my hubby took one bite and said please make this again. it is a little spicy but very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My husband and I really, really enjoyed this. Will definitely make it again ~ especially for company. Cooking for 2, I halved the first 4 items. Once the onions were soft, the heat was reduced to low (to keep it from scorching or getting too pasty). Added approx. 2 lbs tail meat from a recent crawfish boil. Instead of "processed cheese food" I used 4 oz low fat cream cheese. All that tail meat made it pretty thick, so I ended up using 1 1/4 cup fat-free 1/2 & 1/2. Also added 3 thinly sliced green onions. So many reviewers said it was too spicy, so I used 1/2 tsp cajun seasoning, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and a dash of salt. It heated over low for over an hour. The crawfish stayed tender, the flavors blended VERY well, and the spice factor was perfect. Wonder if mascarpone would be an alternate for cream cheese. Did not bake... doesn't seem like there's enough liquid. Added a ladle of pasta water to the crawfish sauce & tossed it with the fettuccine. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was very good! I used egg noddles instead of fettuccine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I've tried several crawfish fettuccine recipes, but this one is "heads & tails" above the others! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
So, I had to comment on this recipe - it was fantastic! However, I would STRONGLY recommend the following substitutions: - reduced fat cream cheese for "processed cheese food" - light margarine for butter - fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for the regular - add green onions! Additionally, I didn't bake the dish. I didn't see the point, and it would (I assume) dry out a FABULOUS dish. I also substituted red bell pepper for green (based on what I had around). The above substitutions greatly reduce the "guilt" of this "guilty pleasure" without sacrificing ANY taste! I don't really see how the processed cheese food would work in this recipe, but cream cheese makes it so decadent! I just had to put it up in my fridge to stop eating it! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States