Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I use old bay seasoning to make it a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I was born and raised in New Iberia, La - the heart of Cajun Country! I've made etouffee all different ways over the years, and this is by far the best way. I read some people say to take out the soups, but honestly I rather it this way (it also helps to 'stretch' it out for a bigger family). The only thing I do add is Rotel (another staple in Cajun Country!)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I made it for "the girls" at work and they all demanded the recipe. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
No cream of mushroom soup. Used all cream of celery. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katehusemann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
AMAZING!!! Loved it so much. We fought over the leftovers. I left out the celery soup and added more crawfish AND some corn. Have heard some add white wine - maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this exactly as directed with the addition of 1 Tsp of Zatarains Creole Seasoning. Turned out Absolutely Great! It had a tiny bit of bite, but not too much. I do realize it isn't EXACTLY like what I had in New Orleans, but I feel it is better because the flavors were so smooth, even without the Roux smokyness. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
For innovation and simplicity and for a delicious meal I gave you 5 stars. We had some crawfish left over from a boil and I wanted a quick fix for them. Your recipe did the trick! I also chopped up some sausage from the boil and cooked it with the etouffee as well....good stuff. I did change it some because the crawfish were already salty and spicy but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is a great, quick recipe for étouffée. I'm from the NO area and am also strapped for time with 4 kids, college, and work. I quadrupled the recipe and sautéed store bought crab meat(Oh my!!!) in butter, crab boil, and the veggies. Each of my kids had 2 bowls and the hubby had 2 bowls and is taking some to work for the guys to try! No, it's not "authentic", but with people crunching time nowadays, it was the most delicious quick étouffée I've ever had. No tomatoes here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Sorry for disappointing the person from New Orleans. I did not copy this recipe from someone in New Orleans, so it may not be authentic, but I tried to model the taste after ones I have had during several of my trips to New Orleans. I hope someone likes it at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Just made this for dinner used crawfish and shrimp. Liked it alot im no chef but I like easy recipes that are good and easy and this one was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Phillips
Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States