Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I'm a chef from New Orleans, and the best thing about real cajun food/recipes is that they were created just like you did it...trial and error and local favorites. Most of the dishes you eat from here are not how we eat it anyway! great job, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haw River Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Since I am from New Orleans, I know this is NOT how you make etoufee. But you're on the right track. I would suggest taking out the cream soups and replacing with 2 cups of vegtable stock and 2 tablespoons of flour. Also, add a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Sorry for disappointing the person from New Orleans. I did not copy this recipe from someone in New Orleans, so it may not be authentic, but I tried to model the taste after ones I have had during several of my trips to New Orleans. I hope someone likes it at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is how we make it at home. People from NO like tomatoes in everything but in Acadian we don't put tomatoes or orka in gumbo or in etouffe. If you have the time to cook the crawfish down then make a cream sauce with flour and broth but most people don't have the time. I use one stick of butter per pound and only cream of mushroom because cream of celery gives it a funny color. I cook the onion and celery together. In Acadian less is more. A little tony's and cook it down and you are done. It is simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I made it for "the girls" at work and they all demanded the recipe. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I use old bay seasoning to make it a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great Recipe.. There's absolutely nothing wrong with putting your own spin on your fave dishes. Nobody said you were doing a N'ORLEANS Etoufee...you said it is designed after it. Love it; I prefer it without the tomatoes too.. I just prefer it that way. Thanks for the recipe MIKI, cos all the others had tomatoes ; . Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
AMAZING!!! Loved it so much. We fought over the leftovers. I left out the celery soup and added more crawfish AND some corn. Have heard some add white wine - maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this exactly as directed with the addition of 1 Tsp of Zatarains Creole Seasoning. Turned out Absolutely Great! It had a tiny bit of bite, but not too much. I do realize it isn't EXACTLY like what I had in New Orleans, but I feel it is better because the flavors were so smooth, even without the Roux smokyness. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe was very bland to me...I'm from Louisiana however and eat everything very spicy. I added extra seasonings and spices and it turned out good. Overall, it was a great jumping off point, just needed a little more kick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States