Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is a great, quick recipe for étouffée. I'm from the NO area and am also strapped for time with 4 kids, college, and work. I quadrupled the recipe and sautéed store bought crab meat(Oh my!!!) in butter, crab boil, and the veggies. Each of my kids had 2 bowls and the hubby had 2 bowls and is taking some to work for the guys to try! No, it's not "authentic", but with people crunching time nowadays, it was the most delicious quick étouffée I've ever had. No tomatoes here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
No cream of mushroom soup. Used all cream of celery. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katehusemann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
For innovation and simplicity and for a delicious meal I gave you 5 stars. We had some crawfish left over from a boil and I wanted a quick fix for them. Your recipe did the trick! I also chopped up some sausage from the boil and cooked it with the etouffee as well....good stuff. I did change it some because the crawfish were already salty and spicy but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I was born and raised in New Iberia, La - the heart of Cajun Country! I've made etouffee all different ways over the years, and this is by far the best way. I read some people say to take out the soups, but honestly I rather it this way (it also helps to 'stretch' it out for a bigger family). The only thing I do add is Rotel (another staple in Cajun Country!)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
AMAZING!!! Loved it so much. We fought over the leftovers. I left out the celery soup and added more crawfish AND some corn. Have heard some add white wine - maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this exactly as directed with the addition of 1 Tsp of Zatarains Creole Seasoning. Turned out Absolutely Great! It had a tiny bit of bite, but not too much. I do realize it isn't EXACTLY like what I had in New Orleans, but I feel it is better because the flavors were so smooth, even without the Roux smokyness. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe was very bland to me...I'm from Louisiana however and eat everything very spicy. I added extra seasonings and spices and it turned out good. Overall, it was a great jumping off point, just needed a little more kick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is how we make it at home. People from NO like tomatoes in everything but in Acadian we don't put tomatoes or orka in gumbo or in etouffe. If you have the time to cook the crawfish down then make a cream sauce with flour and broth but most people don't have the time. I use one stick of butter per pound and only cream of mushroom because cream of celery gives it a funny color. I cook the onion and celery together. In Acadian less is more. A little tony's and cook it down and you are done. It is simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I'm a chef from New Orleans, and the best thing about real cajun food/recipes is that they were created just like you did it...trial and error and local favorites. Most of the dishes you eat from here are not how we eat it anyway! great job, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haw River Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great Recipe.. There's absolutely nothing wrong with putting your own spin on your fave dishes. Nobody said you were doing a N'ORLEANS Etoufee...you said it is designed after it. Love it; I prefer it without the tomatoes too.. I just prefer it that way. Thanks for the recipe MIKI, cos all the others had tomatoes ; . Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States