Crawfish Etouffee Like Maw-Maw Used to Make Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I love this recipe. I added a little spice with some cayenne pepper to give it a little more bite. I have made it twice in one week because it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Way too much butter, like way too much butter. Then, it specifically says to Not Brown the butter? This is the key step in the aesthetics of this dish. It should be browned (slowly). Lastly the amount of time to simmer the crawfish turns them to rubber. Ill be looking elsewhere for a recipe. Thanks though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I'm from Cajun country, and with some tweaks, it's right on the money (as it sits now, this is about a 3). It's not Cajun without the holy trinity of onions, bell pepper, and celery, so add 3 or 4 celery stalks to the vegetables, but cut the celery pretty small so it will cook at the same rate as the other veggies. I also added liquid crab/shrimp boil seasoning--it makes a big difference!--about three tablespoons of tomato paste (never tomato sauce), Tony Chachere's to taste, basil, bay leaves, and parsley. I added more of the Worcestershire sauce, too. I served this to a few people from back home and they couldn't stop raving about how much they missed real Cajun food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Finally! A true etouffee without tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibsAunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
this was great all at dinner loved it,very easy to make.will make it a day ahead becaus the left overs were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was my first time cooking cajun and I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written. I thought it was pretty doggone good! My wife loved it and took some to work and let a "cajun" coworker try it. Bravo Zulu!!!!! This weekend I'm trying it with shrimp. Thanks Ritalee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was an excellant dish! My mother really liked it. My only addition was a few stalks of celery to the saute. I also only used 12 oz. of crawfish. This was because I could only find packages of crawfish in this amount at my grocery store. I thought two of these packages - 24 oz. - would have been too much. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jena, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe came out very well! My hubby is a crawfish eater and he loved it. I did use chicken broth instead of water and I added cayenne and green onions. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Next time I will reduce the amount of butter by half. Otherwise a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Wow! This was the best new recipe I've tried in a while! Just made a few small changes: 1) Cut the butter/flour in half, worked out wonderfully. 2) Doubled the garlic (always do) and added more of all the seasonings + ground red pepper. 3) Used a splash of chardonnay and then chicken broth instead of the water. Dinner was amazing with some brown rice and french bread! Thank you RITALEE76 I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States