Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The best chowder ever! I have not tasted anything this good in restaurants. To be able to make this at home is amazing. This can be made with other seafoods; half crawfish, half scallops or shrimp. I always make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this last night and it turned out awesome! my husband knows good Cajun food being from Louisiana and he is picky about seasoning so he assisted in the preparation. After I sautéed the green onions I cooked 2 pkg of 12 Oz tails in butter then added to green onions in a bowl. we then dashed old bay seasoning in the onions and tails and coated it while the soups and corn simmered. I doubled the soup and corn to this recipe just so we could have extra. I added 8 Oz of cream cheese to the soup mix along with the seasoned onions/crawfish and let it all mix together. I realized I never added the half and half but it was very thick without it and the cream cheese I think gives it the "chowder" consistency anyway. I turned out perfect and had just the amount of "kick" without it being too hot. I think the key to it is mix in the amount of seasoning you desire to the onions and crawfish BEFORE you add it in the soup mix. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is restaurant grade! Excellent as written - no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Glorious recipe. Best with leftover crawfish from a boil, but if you have to use frozen, try sprinkling a little crawfish boil seasoning on them and simmer a bit longer. Takes away that frozen crawfish taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Marie Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner tonight with the leftover crawfish tails that we had from a boil over the weekend. This recipe is delicious. I will most likely use it every time we have leftover crawfish. I read the other reviews and decided to do as suggested and double the corn and the cream cheese. I followed the recipe exactly in everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I added the golden trio: chopped onion, bell pepper, and celery. Cooked that down before I put the soups in the pot. Added more to the flavor!! Great recipe and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good recipe, I gave 4/5 stars because it was just too rich and unhealthy for my taste but the texture and flavor was great. I used spicy chicken sausage instead of the crawfish and added roasted jalapeños. Next time I will substitute low fat cream cheese/sour cream for the cheese and use milk instead of half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wonderful!!!! This recipe was easy to follow and has an absolutely wonderful flavor! My neighbor made this and shared with our family Christmas Eve. My children, ages 10, 15, & 17 (who can be quite picky) ALL enjoyed the chowder! I made it for New Years and will be making it again and again for sure! I bought my crawfish at Kroger in the frozen meat dept. since they are out of season right now. I also didn't have Cayenne Pepper so I just used some season all and black pepper and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
great recipe! I always make this with bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
very good recipe, i used 2 bags of frozen crawfish tails from walmart, and doubled up cream cheese and corn and added 10 slices of bacon in the end. cooked all of this in slow cooker, but prepped the same way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States