Crawfish and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is native Louisiana girl LOVES this recipe. So does my family, who i tried this out on. Make it as written, but add 1.5 capfulls of zataran's concentrated liquid crab boil. Also its better when made with golden corn, not sweet corn. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I'm a native Louisianian and this soup is as good, if not better than any I've eaten in any restaurant. This is a genuine taste of Louisiana. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Get rave reviews for this recipe. Have made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
We Love this soup my husband makes this all the time. But here is his extra that he adds it is 2 cups of shrreded velveta cheese at the very end This gives it just a little differant taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Okay....I've been choosing and cooking some really great recipes from allrecipes.com for a couple of years now, but have never reviewed one. However, this recipe is one of the most fantastic yet and deserves all 5 stars. Changes... used fresh corn scraped off the cob in dish, 1/4 cup water, cover, and steam in microwave. (still used 1 can cream corn) Also added 1 pint of heavy cream, left out the creole seasoning, added 1 1/2 capfuls of liquid crab boil. Got an "OH MY GOSH, MOM, FORGET THE GUMBO, YOU'LL BE COOKING THIS ALL THE TIME" FROM MY 2 DAUGTHERS. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
We loved this soup! I used the crawfish from our boil that I had frozen and it was perfect! It added another layer of flavor. I used regular corn without added sugar and semi pureed it instead of the cream style corn. As suggested, I added a couple of caps of Zatarain's liquid boil and it was fabulous. I think I will try this with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This almost exactly like a recipe I have been making for years, only my recipe calls for shrimp. I used leftover crawfish from a boil & after shucking all them myself, I vowed that I have eaten my last crawdad. ;o) The soup was really good though I added a cap of of Zatarain's seafood boil instead of teh hot sauce. Thansk for a tasty recipe for my leftover crawdads lfreytag...it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We are from New Orleans and usually have corn and crab, but my mother is allergic to crabs and the crawfish worked out well. We used cream of mushroom instead of potato, and corn that has been removed from the cob - with the corn milk. Extra seasoning was a MUST. A spoon of liquid Crab Boil makes it really New Orleans! If your grocery doesn't have it, try www.zatarain.com for many authentic treats & tastes of New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I followed the instructions and it was good. I too would prefer if it wasn't so sweet. Maybe I'd look for creamed corn with no sugar added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I am from South Louisiana and have just recently ate this dish for the very first time at a restaurant. I absolutely loved it and wanted to learn how to make it. I just made it and all I did different was added a ton more seasoning. Next time I will also remember to buy unsweetened corn. I had to add alot of salt because the corn was really sweet. Other than that my fiance loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States