Crawfish and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Okay....I've been choosing and cooking some really great recipes from allrecipes.com for a couple of years now, but have never reviewed one. However, this recipe is one of the most fantastic yet and deserves all 5 stars. Changes... used fresh corn scraped off the cob in dish, 1/4 cup water, cover, and steam in microwave. (still used 1 can cream corn) Also added 1 pint of heavy cream, left out the creole seasoning, added 1 1/2 capfuls of liquid crab boil. Got an "OH MY GOSH, MOM, FORGET THE GUMBO, YOU'LL BE COOKING THIS ALL THE TIME" FROM MY 2 DAUGTHERS. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I am always looking for crawfish recipes, and this one is great!!! I usually add some red peper flakes for heat but otherwise made according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We are from New Orleans and usually have corn and crab, but my mother is allergic to crabs and the crawfish worked out well. We used cream of mushroom instead of potato, and corn that has been removed from the cob - with the corn milk. Extra seasoning was a MUST. A spoon of liquid Crab Boil makes it really New Orleans! If your grocery doesn't have it, try www.zatarain.com for many authentic treats & tastes of New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I am from South Louisiana and have just recently ate this dish for the very first time at a restaurant. I absolutely loved it and wanted to learn how to make it. I just made it and all I did different was added a ton more seasoning. Next time I will also remember to buy unsweetened corn. I had to add alot of salt because the corn was really sweet. Other than that my fiance loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Love it!!!! Made a couple of changes, such as adding crab boil and more seasoning, but it was great!!!! Thanks for helping me try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ25
Home Town: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My mother-in-law and husband loved it. I made one addition though. We had potatoes left over from the crawfish boil so I cut those and added them to the pot. This was perfect for the leftover crawfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great recipe! I am born and raised in south Louisiana and I have never eaten corn and crawfish soup but I am trying to instill our heritage in my kids and trying to cook more authentic Cajun food...My husband who isn't from here absolutely loved it and the kids did too.. This one will go in my personal recipe collection! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
We loved this soup! I used the crawfish from our boil that I had frozen and it was perfect! It added another layer of flavor. I used regular corn without added sugar and semi pureed it instead of the cream style corn. As suggested, I added a couple of caps of Zatarain's liquid boil and it was fabulous. I think I will try this with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I went to a crawfish boil last night and came home with lots of leftovers. I'm from Texas and I've never cooked with crawfish before. This recipe was so much more delicious than I could have hoped for. I added more creole and pepper sauce to kick it up a notch. This will be a staple when I have crawfish available. Thank you for a savory evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe is the BEST! I used to work at a restaurant that served Crawfish Corn Soup and it was one of my favorites. I started to crave it one day and so decided to look up a recipe and make it myself. This recipe turned out better than the restaurants! I changed nothing, made it just like it says and everyone loved it, my step-dad especially...and he never likes anything! haha Definatly a recipe to try if you like crawfish and corn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States