Cranberry Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2001
Great recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This sounds great but I don't have a bread machine - will the recipe still work if I make it by hand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I just took this bread out of the bread machine. It smells wonderful while baking and tastes even better! I made this recipe exactly as stated...I'll be making a second loaf soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe over the weekend and was very impressed. It made a nicely chewy, just sweet enough loaf although I will probably add more dried cranberries next time (a personal preference). I strongly recommend soaking the dried cranberries to plump them before adding them to the dough. Toasts nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was very simple to put together, but I felt like it lacked spice. Next time I make it, I think I'll double the cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The cranberries were fabulous, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is one of my favorite bread machine recipes. I love it. I enjoy a spicier bread so I double all the spices and add a 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of allspice as well. I have pre-soaked the cranberries as well as using them straight out of the bag and I like it both ways. I have had to reduce the liquid or temperature of the liquid to suit my climate, conditions, and bread machine. Also, try this using this bread as a french toast -- awesome even without syrup or any other toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Yum! I doubled the spices as suggested by other reviewers, and only had fresh (thawed) cranberries. YUM! Awesome hot, or toasted with a bit of agave nector drizzled on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmylastname
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Really liked this recipe! Moist with just the perfect amount of cranberries (I used craisins) Doubled the spices as suggested and also substituted 1/4 cup water for 1/4 cup OJ. I don't have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit, mixed together dry ingredients (EXCEPT 1 cup flour) added the butter (melted) and liquid stuff. Then I mixed/kneaded in the last cup of flour. Kneaded about 8 minutes (until elastic-y)and then let rise until it doubled (about 1hr), put in a greased loaf pan and let rise again (mine took about 40-50min to double) and then baked at 400F for 15 min and then reduced to 350F for 25 min (mine is an electric oven and somewhat goofy, so you might need to adjust the baking time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My bread machine broke on me halfway through the first knead, so I had to do some extra work...still, this bread was worth it! I opted to sub some OJ in and it turned out to be a good choice, adding a wonderful balance to the tangy cranberries. Even my 3-year-old kept wanting more, which is high praise. I'm sure it would have turned out even better if my machine had survived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly except also added sunflower seeds. I thought the clove would be too harsh tasting and I thought the bread would be too sweet with all that honey, but, boy, I was wrong! This bread is delicious as cinnamon toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States