Cranberry Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Really liked this recipe! Moist with just the perfect amount of cranberries (I used craisins) Doubled the spices as suggested and also substituted 1/4 cup water for 1/4 cup OJ. I don't have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit, mixed together dry ingredients (EXCEPT 1 cup flour) added the butter (melted) and liquid stuff. Then I mixed/kneaded in the last cup of flour. Kneaded about 8 minutes (until elastic-y)and then let rise until it doubled (about 1hr), put in a greased loaf pan and let rise again (mine took about 40-50min to double) and then baked at 400F for 15 min and then reduced to 350F for 25 min (mine is an electric oven and somewhat goofy, so you might need to adjust the baking time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This sounds great but I don't have a bread machine - will the recipe still work if I make it by hand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wow. This is the best bread I have ever eaten! I have had it every morning for breakfast, and now I'm making another loaf. It is even more wonderful if you add 1/2 of pecan pieces with the cranberries. I could eat nothing else but this bread for the rest of my life and be very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I doubled the cranberries and the spices except for the cloves. I added a 1/2 cup of walnuts because it's all I had--it was great and 1 full cup would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Yum! I doubled the spices as suggested by other reviewers, and only had fresh (thawed) cranberries. YUM! Awesome hot, or toasted with a bit of agave nector drizzled on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmylastname
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
Great recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Used Amelia's instructions for mixing without a bread machine. Also doubled the spices- next time I will not double the cloves- they were a bit overwhelming! I had no craisins, so chopped up a cup of some frozen cranberries. The bread baked into a lovely, soft loaf- perfect with a cup of tea for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe over the weekend and was very impressed. It made a nicely chewy, just sweet enough loaf although I will probably add more dried cranberries next time (a personal preference). I strongly recommend soaking the dried cranberries to plump them before adding them to the dough. Toasts nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
very good bread. added 1/4 cup of orange juice and only 1 cup of water, a dash of orange peel and a sprinkle or two of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was very simple to put together, but I felt like it lacked spice. Next time I make it, I think I'll double the cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The cranberries were fabulous, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States