Cranberry Walnut Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
WARNING: After reading other reviews, I halved the oil and vinegar and it was still drowing in dressing. I added another full bag of slaw and it was just about right. I doubled the cranberries, doubled the nuts (used roasted almonds right from the bag for extra crunch) and nearly tripled the dry mustard. The ingredients together are delicious and make a light, fresh slaw. This recipe is just way off on the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a great side dish for any day, but especially nice for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So good I ate the leftovers as a snack! I will be making this again soon! I did make a few changes, however. I used fresh green and red cabbages and sliced them into ribbons and added some Napa cabbage for a frilly touch. I omitted the onion to please my family. I also used three stalks of celery, one cup dried cranberries, and a half cup toasted walnuts. I used white wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil and a teaspoon of coarse grained mustard instead of the dry mustard. No change with the sugar and salt. I really liked the sweetness of the dressing. This recieved rave reviews from family and guests! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Delicious! I used almonds instead of walnuts, and added a little extra vinegar and mustard. I like tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Absolutely loved this! Have made many times since last Thanksgiving. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good but will reduce the sugar and dressing next time. The next day the portion at the top of the bowl (furthest from the dressing that settled at the bottom) was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet Veggie Freak
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious! I make this dish each Thanksgiving. Making this hours ahead allows the flavors to marry. Use organic ingredients, if possible, which is not only healthier, but more flavorful. Makes good leftovers for days, remaining crisp. I made only slight variations. They are as follows: 1) Chopped organic green & purple cabbage (16 oz) NOTE: Using shredded may result in the wilting that some cooks have complained of. 2) Unsweetened cranberries - the corn sugar and/or syrup that is often added is unnecessary. 3) Sauteed walnuts w/ olive oil. NOTE: Olive oil is not heat stable and should never be used over medium or higher heat. It should really only be used over low heat to avoid toxic gases. 4) 2 Tbsp sugar 5) White wine vinegar vs. distilled 6) Olive oil vs. vegetable oil 7) 1 shredded carrot View the photo that I've added to see the resulting festive appearance. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delish and happy to add this recipe to meals more regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I added the dressing a few hours ahead of time and don't recommend doing that. It really wilted the cabbage. I didn't have the dry mustard so I used fresh grated horseradish. I deleted the onion because I thought it would be to overpowering but I think next time green onions would work. I also used pistachio which made it really festive for Christmas Eve dinner. There is way too much dressing left over. I suggest halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States