Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
i love cranberry walnut bread. couple changes, first off i dont have a bread machine so just made it as i would make most loaves of bread and adding fruit and nuts in at the end. didn't use the baking soda and added a chopped peeled apple. thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Fabulous bread. Tasty. Full-flavored. We are addicted now. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I love this bread, but I find it a total pain to make the traditional way; the dough is incredibly stick and needs way too much extra flour. So, I've adapted the recipe to fit with the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day method. Increase water to 1/3 cup at yeast to 3/4 TBSP. Add yeast to water & buttermilk. Add honey, melted butter, egg. Dump the dry ingredients on top, and stick your hand in and mix until just combined, wetting your hands if you need to in order to get all try dry ingredients incorporated. DO NOT KNEAD. Now just cover and let the dough sit on your counter or somewhere warm for 2-5 hours. Then refrigerate for up to 5 days (because of the raw egg). Whenever you want some bread, pull off a chunk of dough & shape it. Let it warm up & rise a bit (this will take about 1.5 hrs, it'll be 'wobbly' when it's ready). Then bake as per usual. This is much easier than struggling with the incredibly sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I added an extra 1/3 cup of flour based on the readers notes, but it doesn't need it. It turned out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
i scaled this to 10 servings (1 lb loaf) and made some slight changes - used quick-cooking oats as no rolled oats on hand; substituted 1 T of honey with 1 T of cane sugar; added 2 T more of flour as the dough was looking too wet after kneading cycle; used soy flour mixed w/ a little water in place of the egg. Well it turned out great with the crusted ends more than edible!! The hint of cinnamon was a nice touch without being overpowering and the texture of the loaf was chewy yet soft. Next time i would... 1) reduce the amount of dried cranberries as these looked a bit too much and kept falling out when i was slicing the loaf and 2) add more walnuts by the same amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I can't even begin to tell you how many loafs of this bread I've made. Great Christmas gift and my family LOVES it! A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
THis was great. I can't stop eatting it. I let my bread machine mix it up and then I baked it. It made 1 large loaf and a small one. I think it would have overflowed my bread machine on a 2 pound loaf setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is the most delicious bread I've ever made and I've been making bread for many years! I found I have to add about 1/4 cup more bread flour to the recipe and I've used dried buttermilk (with water) but it still came out absolutely delectible! The last time I made it, I let the machine knead it and then did the rest by hand. It rose so high when baking that it hit the top of the oven, so the next time I'll put the dough in two bread pans. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is wonderful and so easy to make. My daughter doesn't like cranberries so I substitute the dried cherries. Have made it with cranberries too and hard to tell the difference! It's great toasted and also makes great crouton to dress up a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe which we use all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States