Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
BEST bread ever! I have been baking bread for 45 years and I think this is my favorite bread. This makes a very large loaf and is absolutely wonderful. I didn't have buttermilk so used regular milk with 1 TBSP. of white vinegar instead and put the soda in with the milk to start working. I used 2 1/2 cups of King Arthur wheat flour and 1 cup of King Arthur white bread flour. It needs that extra 1/2 cup of flour. I used 2 1/2 tsp of yeast and that was perfect which I always poof with the 1/4 c. of water with 1/2 tsp of sugar. I also used 1 tsp. of cinnamon and it was full of flavor. I mixed it in my bread machine and added the cranberries/walnut to the last of the mixing before rising. After the dough cycle I formed it into a large bread pan or put it on a cookie sheet and form it in a circle. Either works wonderful. If you want a more crusty bread I recommend the cookie sheet method. The bread is so tender on the inside and also makes wonderful toast. I bake it at 350 for 40 minutes. We used whipped cream cheese on it instead of butter. Perfection. This goes to the top of our bread recipes for a healthy wonderful bread. I am going to try 100% wheat also which should work good. Best Bread Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Fantastic bread! I had planned on following the recipe exactly up until my machine prompted me to add the fruit and nuts--I noticed the dough was incredibly sticky. So, I added an additional 1/4 c. of flour. It turned out perfectly and this recipe has been put into my permanent recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is now my FAVORITE bread. Thank you so much Kathi for posting! Of course, I did tweek it to my liking. I changed the flour to 2 cups bread flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. And I added 2 tsp of cinnamon, extra nuts and berries to give it a little more kick. Toasted with butter and a little honey on top is my so yummy, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I've had the breadmaker for about a year and this is the best thing I've made! It rose nice and high, was light and fluffy with a great flavor and texture. We love it with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this bread with some changes to the original recipe, s we are diabetic and it turned out marvelous. I used the knead cycle of my bread maker and had it ready to go in the oven when my husband came home from work. After the knead cycle was done, I had to go to work. When I got back home, the bread had been baked and tasted! My husband made the comment that I had really outdone myself with this one! My changes were: 1/2 tbs, honey & 1 1/2 tbs. of Splenda, 1 1/2 c. bread flour & 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, butter in place of margarine. I did not have any baking soda available, but it did not hurt the recipe at all. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand. so used 1 c. milk with 1 tbs. white vinegar. I can see this recipe will be used a lot at our house! If using the bread machine, remember the liquid ingredients need to go in first and be kept away from the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Came out good. Very good toasted with spray butter. The only thing I didn't like about it is the taste the buttermilk leaves, slightly bitter. I'm blaming the buttermilk because I had the same problem with another recipe I made that also included buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Even better than my old cranberry bread recipe. Love the texture. Easy to cut and spread butter on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I was looking for a Cranberry/Walnut bread that was similar to our local bakery's, which is fantastic but VERY expensive, and OMG this is almost an EXACT match to that!! This bread was wonderful, not too sweet, just right! This will be be a staple in our house, and I plan to make some for friends and family. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This has excellent flavor and texture, even with powdered buttermilk. I put the ingredients in at bedtime so that we could wake up to it, and it smelled divine! The fruits always get blended in more because they sit in the water all night, and I forgot to add extra fruit to compensate, since I prefer larger/more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is the best bread machine recipe I have ever made! It did not have that "bread machine bread" texture but baked up high and light. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States