Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Not a bad recipe but fluid to flour ratio is off. Ended up adding over 1/2 cup more of bread flour to get a decent soft ball. Used dried cherries and walnuts and increased cinnamon slightly since I have some very fragrant Vietnamese cinnamon. Nice rounded loaf that was awesome toasted with honey walnut butter. Will make again but decrease buttermilk by 1/4 cup as easier to increase fluid in kneading loaf than increasing flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Rourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Lyons Guenther
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I love this recipe. I made it with 3 cups of wheat flour instead of bread flour. I also increased the cranberries to 1 full cup and the walnuts to 3/4 of a cup. I used my bread machine, but removed from the machine before the last raise and shaped into two smaller loaves and baked in the oven on a flat pan. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used 2 cups whole wheat and 1.5 cups white (adding another 1/2 cup of flour). I put this in my bread machine on Dough setting then took it out once complete, kneaded the cranberry and walnuts in, put it back in the bread machine pan and put it in a warm place, covered it and let it rise for another hour. I then molded it into a round on a parchment lined cookie sheet and let it rise for another 40 minutes and it rose again, about 50% more. I then baked it for 40 minutes until the internal temperature was 160 degrees. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is the yummiest bread EVER!!!!! Slightly sweet, fluffy and moist! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, cranberries to 1 cup and walnuts to 3/4 cup. Since I didn't have oats, added 1/4 cup more of flour. I make this bread weekly but it's gobbled up in a few days at home and in a few minutes at work! Don't make if you're on a diet 'cuz you can't just have one slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this today using 1 1/2 c. wheat flour and 1 1/2 c. white flour. I used 1 tsp. cinnamon. I used butter instead of margarine. It came out excellent using my bread machine, just a nice size loaf. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love the bread. Good texture and nice crust. Incorporated the changes - 1 tsp cinnamon and equal parts bread flour and whole wheat flour. Did need to add an extra half cup of flour..1/4 cup at a time. Brought it to a good consistency with a soft, smooth touch. Next time will use 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon. Makes a nice tasty loaf..we are spoiled and do not like store-bought loaves..most have no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I don't have a bread machine so I used COOK471 as a partial guide and added the 1/2 cup additional bread flour. Without it, kneading the bread would have been impractical. Also, I assembled the bread as a 4 strand circle braid with a 1 whole egg and 1 T milk egg wash. Bake for 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Maybe next time add different dried fruits and nut combinations a Breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was the first recipe that I attempted on my new bread machine since I had an abundance of cranberries that I needed to use up. I was in awe as to how good the bread tasted! I plan to make this recipe more often and will continue to keep a reserve of cranberries and walnuts in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We love this bread, especially as toast with a touch of honey with morning coffee. I don't have a bread machine, so my Kitchen Aid helped me out! My cranberries were looking a little stiff when I pulled them out, so I let them soak in Triple Sec while I made the dough. I let the yeast proof in the water (heated to 105 degrees) while I measured out all the rest of the ingredients. I added the egg, oats, honey, butter, and buttermilk to the yeast and mixed it really well. Then I added the dry ingredients, a little at a time and let the mixer go at it for about 8 minutes. My flour, by the way, was a mix of bread flour and white whole wheat flour. The dough is very sticky, but don't add any more flour! It all works out just fine! I let it rise for about 1 1/2 hours and then added the nuts and drained cranberries. I poured the mixture into a 9x5 loaf pan and let it rise again for about half an hour. This is a bread I'll make again for sure. I think that regular whole wheat flour would be better than the white whole wheat because of the nutty flavor it will give it. Definitely a keeper! Thank you for the recipe! Hubby thanks you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Came out perfect - followed recipe proportions exactly (though butter instead of margarine and pecans instead of walnuts as that's what I had on hand) - bread machine on 2 lb sweet loaf with light crust. delicious and perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.J. Goldenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States