Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was good but not spectacular- will try something else that uses cranberries before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I love this cake. My mom made it for us on Christmas (changed it to 1 C sour cream) and used a vanilla sauce that consisted of 1/2 C melter butter, 1 C sugar, 1 tsp Vanilla, and 1/2 C evaporated milk...It literally melted in our mouths. We weren't so sure about the tangy-ness to it but once the vanilla sauce was on it it was AWESOME. So you may want to try it with the vanilla sauce. She said it would be calliing our name later that night too, and IT DID! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a great holiday cake... I did substitute a few things...I omitted the cinnamon and used 1 tblsp of orange zest and I arranged orange slices in a spiral in the pan and arranged the cranberries around them... added 1/4 cup fresh crushed cranberries and 1/4 cup of orange juice to the cake batter and a full cup of sour cream... it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great Taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Really amazing!! I baked gluten-free with 2 Tbsp tapioca flour, 1/2 C oat flour and the remaining with Brown rice flour. It was a bit too sweet and I think I am going to cut down the sugar in both the sauce and in the cake next time. Boyfriend loved it and cannot wait for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHY12957

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeangetz
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Two things - really do cover the bottom of the Springform generously with foil, without holes, because the syrup will leak through, and burn in the oven (and set off all your smoke detectors). I went by guess and by golly for a holiday party, though, and it turned out fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeangetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great "Holiday" cake. Followed recipe with orange juice (1/2 c) addition. Great taste. Adding this to family dessert recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srchunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Being overly careful, I lined the bottom of my pan with three layers of foil. I still had a terrible mess in the bottom of my oven. I had to bake this for at least an hour and 20 minutes. At 50 minutes, it would have been a runny mess. I added the zest of one orange to the cranberry mixture. Overall, the taste was good and it's pretty when garnished with an orange twist and greenery. Will I make this again? Probably. But first I have to clean the oven and that's going to take a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yum, yum! I made this as directed, except for AP flour as I had no cake flour on hand. It was delicious! Pretty sweet though. Maybe I will cut down on the sugar a bit next time. I also like the reviewers who suggested the orange zest, orange juice and then garnishing with orange slices. I will try that next time. Oh BTW, my batter was too thick to 'pour'. I had to spread it around on the cranberries as best I could, but still did not get it all the way to the edge of the pan. Once it baked though, it had spread cleanly to the edges, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruminantia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I have never made a cake from scratch before and certainly not cranberry. This was excellant..I made it per the recipie for thanksgiving and it was quickly devoured. Thankyou for such an original and differant cake. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hazlehurst, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States