Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
As a baking newbie, I found this recipe awesome, the cake is moist and very delicious. Some of the reviews got me worried but I simply followed the recipe ingredients and directions, used a normal 9 inch cake pan lined with foil, the cake turned out very nice. The only thing that I concern about is the baking temperature and time, I baked the cake 325F instead of 350F for only little more than 30 mins and the surface turned slightly golden, so I sticked a toothpick in the middle of the cake and it came out clean, it's done! Do keep an eye on the cake, keep checking on it! And I used fresh cherry instead of cranberry because I had a bunch of ripe cherries in the fridge, don't know if that's the reason the bottom(top when you flip the cake over) got a bit soggy and the color look greyish, but it tastes way better than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used plain chobani greek yogurt (one whole 6oz container plus some more to make a cup. Only had walnuts & dried cranberries in the house and they were great in this recipe. I plumped the cranberries with boiling water before adding them. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Really good. I was afraid the cranberries would be over-powering, but they were not. I have a 10" pan, so I used 2 cups of cranberries and 3/4 c. pecans. My cake was done after 50 minutes in a 325-degree oven. I think I will also try this recipe with tart cherries and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've used this recipe for the last 7 years and have never been disappointed. I have never used a spring form for this recipe--just a regular 9 inch round cake pan. I just flipped it over while it was semi-warm. I follow the recipe exactly and it is that good. One of the few recipes on this site, I've ever have to mess with. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
An absolute winner. I baked it in a Pampered Chef oval stone baking dish, with a single recipe, with the following adaptations. I put the cranberries in the food processor for a few spins to coarsely chop them, then used about 2 cups of chopped. I didn't have commercial sour cream, so I put about 2 T lemon juice in a cup measure, then filled it with heavy cream from a farmer friend, and let that thicken while I got the rest of the ingredients ready. I used raw sugar in place of the white sugar. I only needed to bake it 50 minutes at 335. The only change I would make next time is to sprinkle the pecans onto the brown sugar/butter mixture first, then put the cranberries in, rather than the other way around. The crumb of this cake is so light and moist. My family loved it on this snowed-in morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe, particularly for Christmas season. Baked it for my Bible class and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I had over a cup of whole-cranberry cranberry sauce left over from Thanksgiving, not more turkey and didn't want to throw it out. So I found this recipe and used the cranberry sauce in place of the cranberries and sugar for the topping. I also didn't have a springform pan, so I used a glass 9" round baking dish. I cut a circle of parchment to go in the bottom to make sure that the topping would release. It came out delicious! The cake is rich, moist, and buttery and the topping, tart and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! (also, very sweet!) ;-) Next time I'm thinking a bit less sugar (especially in the caramel-y top/bottom), and some orange zest to go with the cranberries. Maybe throw in some cranberries in the batter as well right before cooking and some fresh cranberries on top post-flipping. Overall, the crumb was really nice (light and fluffy)and the caramel top/bottom got the base dense and caramel-y. A big win all-around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCUSS999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is my favorite go to cake in the fall! I buy bags of cranberries when I can get them and freeze them for the off-season. I do make a few changes however- I always use light sourcream(and have used fat free) and it turns out just fine. I also always use my Pampered Chef deep dish baker. I also use 1 stick of butter and 3/4 cup of brown sugar with the pecans- and a full bag of cranberries and probably closer to 3/4c of pecans(I am a handful measurer! 2 handfuls!) Another one that you just can't screw up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This tasted great. My tester came out clean at 50 min, so I took it out. Then it fell in the middle. :( I better bake it longer next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States