Cranberry Trail Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe as is. Toasting the seeds and coconut really made bars pop! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bomster2012

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Awesome! I used Cheerios instead of Rice Crispies but it came out great! The toasted coconut, cranberries, etc. make it super delicious. Very good idea to toast the ingredients, gives a much better flavor. I also added double the peanut butter since my son is taking them hiking. You have to work really fast since the marshmallow mixture sets up fast once you start putting the dry and wet ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
In looking at the reviews, this recipe has been around since 2006 with only a dozen reviews. I thought these bars were awesome. Easy to mix up, and the texture was just perfect. They're not too sticky and would be the perfect snack to have in the car for a road trip. The cranberries give you a little zing of tartness, and there's just a hint of the peanut butter flavor. I think the next time I'll use both cranberries and apricots, and maybe add a little more peanut butter. Nice recipe to "make your own" by varying the nuts and dried fruits. This one is going into my "Favorites" file. Thanks JOENAUJOKAS for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made these for my husband to take on a backpacking trip. Followed the recipe except to omit the coconut, which neither of us care for. They were good... kind of a glorified and slightly heartier Rice Krispie Square. Would make again for day hikes and camping trips as they travel and pack well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Really good! I did add more peanut butter. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made one and it seemed a little thin so let it set and spread crunchy peanut butter on top, then made another one and let that set on top. It turned out really well. I will make these again for sure. Super easy to do, though I had a hard time finding RAW sunflower seeds and unsweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
A rice-krispie squares for adults. I love the dried cranberries in this. I used vanilla rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These came out too sticky for me but had good flavor. I suggest toasting the sesame seeds seperate from the other nuts, because they are so small they sit at the bottom of the pan and are harder to keep from getting over-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
OMG! I absolutely loved this recipe! I seriously recommend trying this out! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was pretty good to me but a little on the dry side. The rice krispies might need to be reduced to 3 cups. It wasn't holding together well. Will try again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States