Cranberry Thanksgiving Turkey Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I loved this sandwich! I have purchased similar sandwiches for lunch and had no idea how easy it was. I always assumed the cranberry sauce was some type of special, time-consuming, to put together sauce. For the bread I used Ecce Panis multi-grain boule. It worked very well for this. I thought the maple honey turkey went with the cranberry sauce too, versus some other spicy or smoked flavored turkey. Only change I made was using lite mayo with olive oil and basically cutting the suggested amount in half which was plenty. I am also going to try the shredded lettuce again. It made the lettuce less dry. I just used a large piece of romaine, washed and dried it, and cut it into strips with a pair of scissors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is SO GOOD. I actually had posted a very similar sandwich recipe to my blog this past January because these flavors just go beautifully together! I use only about 2 tsp of mayo on mine, and sometimes like to add provolone or swiss cheese and maybe some sliced dill pickles to change it up. This time I made it just as stated (just with a little less mayo, and used romaine leaves instead of shredded lettuce) and it is a FANTASTIC sandwich - perfect to pack and enjoy at work. Yumm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
After all these years, I finally asked myself "...why am I eating this only during the Holidays, I love this sandwich?" You can buy Butterball turkey at the deli all year, open a can of cranberry sauce any time, and you're good to go. I'm not a fan of smoky turkey (actually any smoky food), so the sweetness of the maple honey turkey and the cranberry sauce was a win-win in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This sandwich was easy to put together for a quick workday lunch. There were mixed reviews in my house. My husband was a big fan and thought the sweet & tart cranberry sauce with the savory turkey and hearty 15 grain wheat bread were perfect together. He gave the sandwich 5 stars. I personally did not care for the cranberry sauce on the sandwich and would have given the sandwich 3 stars. I think if I made an aioli mixing the mayo and the cranberry sauce together I would like it better because it wouldn't be such a strong cranberry flavor. If you are a big cranberry sauce fan though - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
When thinking about this health conscientious - you have fruit, grain, vegetable, protein, and minimal oil/fat. This is a great quick lunch to end on a full note. It's the thanksgiving sandwich you don't have to feel guilty for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Quick, easy, and very tasty - this makes for a wonderful lunch. I used whole grain bread (preference) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious sandwich! My family went crazy over it. The cranberry gave it just the right hint of "Thanksgiving."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan. Too me there needed to be a more prominent crunch factor and I didn't care for the mayo/cranberry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I totally love this sandwich. Anyone who knows me knows that my favorite holiday is Thanksgiving! Mine always includes a Butter Ball Turkey. My favorite leftovers is the coveted turkey sandwich. I pile it high too with all of the ingredients in this recipe plus some leftover dressing (if there is any). I made this exactly as written with the exception of the turkey it self. It was Butter Ball, but the Maple Honey wasn't available in my area so I used their fully cooked deep-fried turkey breast which I sliced and put on the sandwich. The results were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This was a great sandwich! I did add a slice of cheddar cheese which was tasty! This is a great way to have that Thanksgiving flavor in a quick way at any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States