Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious! However, mine took a lot less time to bake than stated. I used a 10 cup bundt ban. It could be that the pan is thin, but overall I think it was done in about 40 minutes (possibly even 45). I used the toothpick test and it showed it done that early. I did use the canned whole cranberry sauce, while many other reviewed used homemade sauce. One suggestion is to take the canned sauce, put in a bowl and mush it up really well. This helps make it easier to put in the batter without it touching the sides of the pan. I just love the tang of the sauce in this cake. Everyone here loved it, even picky daughter and picky grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent cake - nice crumb, nicely moist, good flavour. Served it for a meeting and a motion was made for me to bring it to every meeting;-) I used homemade cranberry sauce, which I applied over half the batter, covered the sauce with the remaining batter. The Almond extract is a nice counterpoint. Next time, I will drizzle an icing with some almond extract in it over the cake. Mmm mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So far the best coffee cake.. moist and fluffy and so good not to sweet but it taste great and so simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Making this for Jesus' Birthday cake on Christmas morning! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjreid95

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This basically was like just cake. It definetly needs more cranberry to it and a streusal. I think I'll tweak the recipe a bit and add orange zest some orange juice and make a streusal on top and swirled in with lots more cranberries. I may even just add fresh whole cranberries to it. The cake moistness was right on. Thumbs up for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We have been baking this cake for 40 years. Some hints: Make sure your baking powder is fresh. Try not to get the cranberry sauce close to the edge of the pan - it sticks like glue. If you don't have a non-stick pan, line the bottom with waxed paper. Make an icing with confectioner's sugar, almond extract and a little milk and drizzle it over the top. We always get rave reviews for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
If I had just made the stupid recipe the way it was supposed to be made and not over complicated things .... I saw some complained about there not being enough batter, so I decided to bake in a mini bundt pan - wrong move on my part as they fell apart while trying to remove and looked horrible BUT ! taste was sensational ! Seriously, we absolutely loved the tang of the cranberries against the sweetness of the cake. I used homemade berry sauce and (grin) failed yogurt in leu of sour cream. Will definately make again - only NOT in mini bundt pans. Note to self: cake mix is light and fluffy, not dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Nice coffee cake. I used homemade cranberry sauce and it worked just fine. I also made it in a bundt pan. It was a bit crumbly and hard to get out of the pan, but delicious for all that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CZAnna
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I love cranberries. this cake is so nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States