Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This did not rise as much as I had hoped. It was tasty and got great reviews from the family. But I had hoped for a little different outcome. I would deffenitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKUKIELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
All I can say is wow! Great recipe for Thanksgiving morning. I probably used a little more whole cranberry sauce, and used half vanilla, half almond extract instead of straight almond. I also had a streusel topping of butter and brown sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I made this for a neighbor who had surgery. I gave him his favorties coffee beans and 1/2 of this cake. I am glad that I saved some for my family. I wouldn't have known how dry it was. Watch your baking time carefully. It depends on the size of pan you choose to use. My neighbors wife returned my platter with her "version" of this recipe. WOW! It included the streusel topping and slivered almonds on top. She made hers in a 9" rd cake pan. It is so pretty and you may serve a wedge any size you choose. There could be so many variations with this filling recipe, let your imagination go, or just use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
The cranberry swirl gave the cake/bread a nice texture to the surrounding parts. However, the rest of it tasted a little too much like the ingredients put in it, a bit floury and baking soda-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Okay, I read, I learned, I baked, and I am totally satisfied! I used an 8x8 square glass dish, I added 2 tsp. of vanilla (suggested by someone else), I didn't have almond extract so I used amaretto liquer, I used an entire 16 oz. can of whole cranberry sauce (also not my original idea), and I added the crumb topping. YUMMO! My husband and I have just about finished this off, and I made it TWO days ago. If you put the crumb topping on (1/3 c. flour, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 3TBSP butter) right away, you may have to cover your cake with foil halfway thru baking to prevent burning. Also, I think mine went almost a full hour with the extra cran. sauce, so be sure to check all the way to the bottom of the pan when testing for doneness. Enjoy, and thank you Laura Owen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Very good, quick cake. Changed the recipe slightly to add 2 cans of whole cranberry sauce. It seemed to need some sort of glaze, so I added a powder sugar, milk and orange extract glaze to the top. It was excellent! Has a nice blend of tart and sweet flavors. Everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Be sure and used canned whole cranberries, not cranberry sauce. This is a moist, tasty, light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
D-Lishus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very enjoyable, everyone loved the cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
The cake turned out great and really yummy... even my sister who thinks I can't cook thought it was great! It took longer to bake than I expected, although that could be because I used a different pan. Overall, it was a great cake and still tasty and moist as left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States