Cranberry Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very easy and very tasty! Next time (and I will make it again!) I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was wonderful! I must have cooked my sweet potatoes too long because they wouldn't hold together to cut into chunks. So I just used a big spoon and scraped them out of the skins. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Oh, I didn't have any granola, so I used chopped toasted pecans as a topping. I kept going back to for more until I polished off the whole dish! DH got one helping. This was really, really good. Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was well received by almost all the guests. In my small town, the grocery store doesn't carry granola but I used some Kashi cereal and it was good. I just sliced my sweet potatoes into rather thin rounds after peeling and layered with the other ingredients and baking until the potatoes were tender then added topping when reheating the next day. In my very traditionally minded family, several asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I put this in the crock pot to hold it until dinner. Stirred it before serving just a bit to mix in the topping. First time in as long as I can remember that the sweet potatoes were gone, no leftovers! ! recipe was enough for 18 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Growing up i never like cranberries, because i thought they only came in cans. Now they are a favorite of mine. This dish is easy to make and simply delicious. Save the marshmallow for campfires and leave the caned cranberries on the shelf this year. This is a wonderful dish everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Love this recipe! It is SO easy to make, and tastes amazing...plus everyone just marvels at how wonderful it looks! I prefer to slice the sweet potatoes, separate by large and small slices, then wrap the bowls, and refrigerate for a few hours. When I'm ready to bake them, I layer the largest pieces on the bottom and layer the smaller ones on top. I think it serves much easier this way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have always detested the traditional marshmallow encrusted sweet potato dish that is the traditional Thanksgiving fare. 2 years ago I was assigned sweet potatoes for the family dinner, and refused to bring the traditional dish. After finding this recipe, I've discovered I like sweet potatoes. This dish has been very popular the last 2 years, and always devoured. I use brown sugar instead of white, and halve the amount. I also use Trader Joe's organic dried cranberries, which are wonderfully juicy and much better than the usual dried up craisins. For a former sweet-potato hater, I must say that this recipe converted me and now will be a tradition in our family. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
REALLY good! I was in a hurry, so I used canned sweet potaotes. I did not have orange juice, so I used 1/3 cup of the juice the sweet potatoes were packed in and ommitted the sugar. I also added 1tsp. pumpkin pie spice. I used Kashi Go Lean Crunch for the granola and like the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Much too sweet - I'd cut the sugar by at least half, since the o.j. adds a lot of sweetness. Don't boil the sweet potatoes, you lose a lot of nutrients into the water! Just add to baking dish with the other ingredients and they'll cook perfectly - just might need to increase baking time by about 10-15 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Instead of granola I used chopped pecans to make it a little healthier and less dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was nervous about this recipe only because "sweet and tart" sweet potatoes just didn't sound that great. But I figured all of these people couldn't be wrong right!? I am SO happy I tried this! Brought it to Thanksgiving and people were eating it before eating the turkey on their plate! Seriously. It is really good...even if you do not like cranberries (like me). It makes the most beautiful presentation too. The orange juice mixture thickens up nicely while it cools out of the oven so don't worry if it looks too runny. Also I did not change the recipe at all and it was perfect! Enjoy! TY to Patricia for sharing this recipe with all of us. xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States