Cranberry Stuffed Turkey Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I added a little celery and onion sauteed in butter to the packaged dressing and a 1/2 tsp of poulty seasoning for each package of stuffing. After rolling the turkey breasts as described, I did NOT brown them in oil. This toughens the skin, particularly if the breasts are still cold. I put them direcly into a dish with enough melted butter to cover the bottom to about 1/4". I then dipped 3 thin layers of cheescloth into butter and draped them over the turkey breasts, completely covering the breats. I had 6 large breasts in a flat 3 quart casserole dish and they baked to perfection in 50 minutes. These were so tender; not a sign of dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This recipe as great! I was worried about the turkey getting to dry so I put a thin layer of butter on the flatten turkey breast, salt and peppered it and then layered stuffing, pecans and cranberries. It doesn't mention to salt and pepper that maybe the reason why some reviews said that it didn't have much taste to the turkey. The next day we made sandwiches with the turkey, added cranberry sauce, mayo, lettuce and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
Very good with chicken too! Very tasty. Keep turkey/chicken rolls warm in oven while browning all of the breasts. If the rolls dry out pour some wine over them and leave in oven for another 5 minutes. Deglaze the pan from the oven for gravey. Make extra stuffing because it's really good and place in pan in oven to warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I've made this recipe 2 years in a row and must say that it's not only tasty, but has a very nice presentation. I would suggest making more of the stuffing/pecan/cranberry mixture and serving it with it. I can dry out while cooking, if you're not careful. Covering the ends with aluminum foil near the end of the cooking time may help this. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Alternate preparation method: cook box of stuffing as directed, then i took 6 boneless, skinless turkey breasts and 1) laid them between two sheets of wax paper and used a canned vegetable to roll/beat them thin 2) brushed both sides with melted butter with thyme & rosemary in it 3) spread 1-2 tbsp of stuffing on each breast (mash it down thin with fingers, dont leave loose & thick) 4) spread cranberry chutney very thin on top of the stuffing (can use cranberry sauce if thats all you have, just mix in a few craisins or other dried cranberries to the sauce to give it texture) 5) rolled up tightly, secured each one with 2 or 3 toothpicks 6) drizzled 2 tbsp melted butter in bottom of small casserole dish 7) baked 15 mins at 375 covered, then 30 mins uncovered. Served with mashed potatoes and brown gravy and the rest of the stuffing! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Piney Flats, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Not as complicated as it sounds. I did seasoned the breasts with salt, powder garlic and cumin. Not pepper because it burns the meat if it is put way ahead of cooking time. I put the breasts in the refrigerator for a day, prepare the stuffing on the cooking day, before putting the rolled breasts in skillet I seasoned them with a bit more salt and pepper. When it was done I used warm turkey broth and sprinkle over them. It turned out perfect with the cranberries and pecans. I would definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I try to make a recipe the way it's written the first time, and in doing so, this was a bit of a disappointment. By first browning the turkey, the skin turned out tough, and it was difficult to slice. There was no basting liquid to keep it moist. I took it out of the oven at 45 minutes, and it was totally overcooked. I like the combination of flavors, so I'll try this again with modifications. I will not brown it on the stove top, but will rub the turkey breast with some butter. I will add some broth and a little white wine to the pan, cook it at a higher temperature initially to brown, cover it with foil, then lower the temperature, baste it often, and start checking for doneness at 25-30 minutes. This is a good recipe, but IMO, the cooking instructions are not correct. Served this for Thanksgiving, and although it didn't turn out as expected, the presentation is very nice, and it was not a total failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Rachel Hundley
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this today for thanks giving. The cranberries were soft and tart and delicious. Next time I will put more in there. I didn't have string so I used unflavored unwaxed dental floss. That worked fine. My turkey was definitely cooked all the way through, but it never registered a temperature of 170. I think this is because it was hard to measure just the turkey and not the stuffing. I let it cook for ten extra minutes just to be sure, but an hour would have been perfectly fine. Finally, for decorating, I didn't bother with the lettuce leaves. I used cranberries, pecan halves, and some fresh herbs, and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good, made it for thanksgiving and basted it every 15 minutes with olive oil and white zindafel wine. I also rubbed turkey breast with rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
A fair amount of work but a wonderful recipe! I made it for Easter last year and my husband keeps begging me to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States