Cranberry Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This recipe is very good. However it turned out quite tart. The next time I make it , I will use an additional 1/2 cup of white sugar , so that it is sweeter. All in all , it is a very festive and tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Great change of pace!This was very popular with my Thanksgiving gang. I did take the recommendations of the other reviewers and added more sugar (1 1/4 c. total) and chopped the cranberries! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This cranberry pie was a hit for Thanksgiving! We loved the tartness and since we have a couple of diabetics - they were overjoyed with the lack of sugar. Those watching their weight loved the lack of butter! It was a hit and 3 people wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Gail
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this pie as directed with two main changes. First, I cut up an apple and mixed in with crushed cranberries. I used blender on pulse mode to crush them. some were still whole but that gives texture to pie. Secondly, I used a trick taught to me years ago. I kept the streusel topping as directed in recipe, but used the second crust to cut up into little squares. It helps if you have it frozen before cutting. Then mix the crust pieces into the streusel topping. Now pour over your cranberry-apple mix. You will be amased at the look and taste of your creation........ Thanks for a great base recipe Nils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I did add about half of a large fuji apple to this. I really loved the flavor and texture of the cranberry mix. I think next time I will add oats to the topping to make it more crunchy. But my kids, husband and I loved the flavor. Perfect for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Gardener
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is a great looking pie. The food processor worked great for chopping the cranberries up. I also increased the sugar to one cup and used pecans in place of walnuts. It has a taste that I would say is a mix between a rhubarb and a cherry pie. Try it for a sweet tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is outstanding! My only issue was the strusel topping didn't turn out right the first time (it was dry and floury) because I think 1 tsp of shortening isn't nearly enough. The second time I used about 1.5 T of shortening and it was great. This was devoured at our pot luck and a nice change on cranberry recipes! Thx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Mmmm! Took this to the office Thanksgiving potluck, and was told it's "to die for". I increased the sugar in the filling to 1 1/4 cups, as I like slightly sweeter desserts, and will do it that way from now on. I had no difficulty smashing the cranberries using a potato masher in a large bowl. It took a little time, but I had some, and I had some frustration to burn off, so it worked out well for me. The only other thing I changed was the walnuts -- didn't measure them. I probably used more like a cup. I wanted a little more topping, as I was using my tart pan, which is a little bigger than a pie plate. I liked the look of the picture posted with the recipe, and wanted that extra WOW factor. The only other thing I want to say about this pie is that it's super simple to make, and if you have cranberries in your freezer year-round like I do, you can make it any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I found it difficult to crush the cranberries very effectively. I recommend chopping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this is fantastic! I use 2 full bags of cranberries, and increase the sugar to 1 cup. I also use butter in the topping instead of shortening. This has become the pie everyone requests for the holidays, & I usually make another one just for me & hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States