Cranberry Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
As a lover of cranberries, I thought this pie was great! I received many compliments on it also. I made the following changes: Increased white sugar to 1 1/4 cup. Used 1 bag of Ocean Spray cranberries. Added 1 chopped Fuji apple. Instead of "smashing" the cranberries & walnuts, I chopped them with my Pampered Chef food chopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. The pie was amazing. I did add the extra sugar as had been suggested. It was still pretty tart, so I would add just a bit more next time. It was the first time my family has had cranberry pie and it was the first to go! This is a definite "must have" for future holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Top notch! Even my husband who doesn't approve of high-calorie desserts succumbe to this pie. I cut the sugar in half, substituting a 1/8 of a cut of Nu-Stevia, in both the cranberry filling and the steusel topping. Used pecans instead of walnuts. This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My taste testers loved this pie. Tried it out before taking to friends for Thanksgiving. Turns out the husband loves cranberries so this will be a great surprise. So easy to make. I took advise and chopped cranberries, but think I will smash some and chop some so the pie will hold together better. I did add 1 cup of sugar, and will probably add 1/4 cup more. Great with frozen vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamlico Grams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
First off, I only use home made pastry crusts, and recipes for me are ideas not hard rules. With that said I must say that this is a wonderful pie that is easy to make and has great taste and texture. I used a 12 oz. bag of cranberries and a large apple. Other than that I kept it pretty strait. In the topping I used chopped peanuts because that's what I had. I enjoyed the use of a mini food processor and my wife thinks there should be an icing drizzle... Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This pie was supurb, it wasn't pretty, no bells & whistles. Whipped cream or vanilla ice cream was a must. I did add extra sugar(1-1/4 cups total) and used pecans rather than walnuts, oh - I also added slivered almonds because I wanted to use them up. This recipe will now become one of my Thanksgiving traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I did add about half of a large fuji apple to this. I really loved the flavor and texture of the cranberry mix. I think next time I will add oats to the topping to make it more crunchy. But my kids, husband and I loved the flavor. Perfect for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I was a little skeptical at how simple this sounded, but it's true! To "smash" the cranberries we used a food processor then bruised the berries further with a potato masher. Like other reviewers, I would use a little more sugar next time. However, when combined with whipped topping or ice-cream, the combination of sweet and tart is truly delightful. This is a truly beautiful pie when it's complete ... perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland Brock
Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
interesting alternative for canrberries but and unbeleavly tatr dessert even with extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
My family likes things on the sweeter side so I added another 1/2 cup white sugar and a can of sliced peaches (drained and diced). We LOVED it. Yummy Autumn dessert, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States