Cranberry Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Nils, thanks for this recipe! I have a large family and all of us are foodies (all 8 siblings!) and love trying new dishes, but not when it comes to holiday pies. I wasn't sure what the response would be when I added this to the pumpkin and apple pies I made, but --- wow! What a hit! It was the hit of the day! And so easy to make! Like others said, our cranberries are sold in 12oz bags so I added 2 chopped Harelson apples. I tasted the mixture, added a 1/4 cup more sugar but other than that, made the recipe as written! Num, thank you so much! It's so easy, so delicious and so pretty on the table! Thank you again! I might try a little orange to the berries just because I like orange w/cranberries, but trust me, it's not necessary! Also, I do like oats in my streusel, so I may try that too, but again, not necessary - just a preference of mine. Thank you for this fabulous recipe ---- and for making me a "star"! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wolszon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a great alternative to traditional Cranberry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is delicious just the way it is with just the correct amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DanielleKIT
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. The brown sugar/streudal topping nicely complements the tartness of the cranberries. It is a little bitter for my liking, so I will add more sugar next time as other users have suggested; however, it's also delicious as is. I made this pie without walnuts because no one in my family likes them. Make sure you follow the measurements and cooking instructions to a "T." Unlike other recipes I have tried lately, the measurements for this one are right on- you will have just enough cranberry filling for one 9 inch pie. The oven temperature and cooking time were perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleKIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie is delicious! I did however make a change as cranberries come in 12 ounce bags here. In order to fill my pan, I added two medium apples and chopped them in small pieces before mixing them in. I also added 1/2 cup oats and 2 tbs butter to the streusel topping. I did not use melted shortening. It came our great! We love cranberries this time of year! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Gail
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this pie as directed with two main changes. First, I cut up an apple and mixed in with crushed cranberries. I used blender on pulse mode to crush them. some were still whole but that gives texture to pie. Secondly, I used a trick taught to me years ago. I kept the streusel topping as directed in recipe, but used the second crust to cut up into little squares. It helps if you have it frozen before cutting. Then mix the crust pieces into the streusel topping. Now pour over your cranberry-apple mix. You will be amased at the look and taste of your creation........ Thanks for a great base recipe Nils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
As someone else stated, add an apple. It'll add sweetness without having to add more sugar. I add honey instead, & about 1/4-1/2 tsp. of ground cloves or allspice. Adds a bit more of a "holiday" flavor & aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Mmmm! Took this to the office Thanksgiving potluck, and was told it's "to die for". I increased the sugar in the filling to 1 1/4 cups, as I like slightly sweeter desserts, and will do it that way from now on. I had no difficulty smashing the cranberries using a potato masher in a large bowl. It took a little time, but I had some, and I had some frustration to burn off, so it worked out well for me. The only other thing I changed was the walnuts -- didn't measure them. I probably used more like a cup. I wanted a little more topping, as I was using my tart pan, which is a little bigger than a pie plate. I liked the look of the picture posted with the recipe, and wanted that extra WOW factor. The only other thing I want to say about this pie is that it's super simple to make, and if you have cranberries in your freezer year-round like I do, you can make it any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very very good! Made just like the recipe stated. Nice and tart. Used food processer to "smash" the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hallettsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this and it was gone in minutes! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States