Cranberry Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Love the stresel topping! I combined the streusel topping from this recipe with the 'crustless cranberry pie' on this site and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This pie has been a great hit everywhere I've taken it this holiday season! I added cinnamon to cranberry mixture as well as the topping. I also used butter instead of the shortening in topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great cranberry pie! It was a great change of pace from the traditional apple and pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving desserts (even though we had those, too). I doubled the sugar and used my blender to crush the cranberries (saves time). I also made this pie since my pie dough recipe makes a two crust pie, and I had planned on making a pumpkin pie. I had an extra crust, so it worked out well!! Try this pie - its worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I also added sugar to bring the total to 1 1/4 cups. I also added a large red apple- any with a crisp texture will do. The apple was paired with a dash of nutmeg and then folded into the chopped cranberries. Half of the extra ready made pie crust was cut into pieces and combined with the topping. Now, my daughter does not like a lot of the tart berry flavor, so I also tempered some white chocolate and drizzeled that over the cooled pie to finish it. Viola! This was an instant hit! Will keep this recipe as a favorite for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I really liked this, but thought that the "streusel" top left a lot to be desired. The filling was very good, though, and a different streusel would be easy to do. I used 1 1/4 cups of sugar and chopped the cranberries in the food processor as others suggested. Great option for Thanksgiving or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is an awesome pie and is now a permanent addition to our favorite pies list! It turned out with the perfect amount of pleasant tartness. The filling was perfect in consistency and is impressive in presentation. The brilliant red of the berries adds to the festivities of the holiday table! I couldn't find any fresh cranberries in our area, so frozen berries were used. Crushing frozen berries wasn't an option, but they chopped up in nice chunky pieces in a food chopper. Just put them in small batches into the chopper - pulse in short bursts until chunky chopped. Two pounds of berries were used for a 10 inch pie pan. To compensate for the extra berries 1 1/4 cups sugar and 1/3 cup flour was used. Because the cranberries were frozen, the pie filling was mounded in the pie shell. The pie shell was also fluted upward just in case the filling would overflow, and an under pie pan pie guard was used as well. Happy to report it didn’t overflow! For the topping I used 1 Tablespoon of cold butter, and took the recommendation of adding some pastry dough to the topping. However, I only used some of the remnants from the preparing of the single pie shell. I simply blended in the pastry strips along with the sugar, butter and flour with a pastry blender until nice and crumbly then mixed in the nuts. Adding the pastry dough to the topping does make for a great topping consistency and flavor. Because of the additional berries and that they were frozen the pie baked for 1 hr 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! After reading reviews, I coarsely chopped the berries, added a chopped gala apple and a dash of freshly ground nutmeg to the filling and added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the topping. This pie recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was fabulous! I decreased the sugar to about 1/2 cup b/c I like the tangy taste and used butter instead of shortening. I took it over to my neighbors and they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
definitely needs more sugar, i also cover the pie with pastry and it's delicious, next time i wll add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marianavazquezg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My new favorite! Makes a wonderful addition to any holiday desert offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States