Cranberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These were ok. I was expecting something more buttery, crisp and shortbread-like, but the crumb mixture on this was very soft and quick bread textured, I think because of the egg. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe for the random can of cranberry sauce I had in my pantry. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and you could probably use cake mix instead if it's on hand. Overall, they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
OMG what a wonderful snack. This will become one of my many favorite desserts for my family.VERY YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Absolutely addictive! My husband and I loved it! I made homemade cranraspberry sauce and had a ton left over so I made this...Now I'll be making cranberry sauces just so I can make this!!! I made everything as instructed for the bottom layer but added brown sugar and cinnamon for top crumbs. (I shared some with a few students and they loved it too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good but not simple to make. Not for me at least. I'm not good at making "crumbles" so it took me a lot longer than it should. I doubled that part of the recipe to make sure the bottom was well covered as well as the top. I'm pleased I made that decision, it was tasty and the appearance was well put together. As a matter of fact I doubled the entire recipe. I ended up using two cans of cranberry sauce; one jellied and one jellied with whole berries. I apologize for reviewing the recipe in spite of my alterations but I figured it was alright seeing how I used the same ingredients, just more of them, lol. I did, however, make an orange/pecan glaze when it was all said and done and it was a great compliment to the cake. (My orange glaze: confec sugar, orange zest & juice, & pecan pieces)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
So delicious, and so easy to make! I used butter, and love the rich flavor of it, blended with the sweet/tart flavor of cranberries. I used whole cranberry sauce, and a little more of it, in order to evenly coat the crust. I'm wondering if making half again as much of the dough, and making the bottom crust a little thicker, might not be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Try apricot jam instead of cranberry sauce. It's the best filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These squares were awesome! They reminded me of the same dessert I used to get for lunch in my elementary school cafeteria years ago. They were so easy to make, too. For those reviewers having trouble creating the crumbly effect with the butter, I definately recommend using a pastry cutter, and instead of stirring in the egg, use the pastry cutter to cut it into the mix so you won't get that cake batter effect. I also read how some reviewers doubled the recipe in order to get a thicker dough at the bottom of the baking pan, but I like the thinner crust, so I prepared this recipe as is, and the crust came out nice and gooey once the cranberry soaked into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
yummy! really yummy! i made these for thanksgiving & they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I don't normally like cranberries or anything with cranberries in it--but these are so good you can't stop eating them! Thank you for the fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States