Cranberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this because I had a lot of leftover cranberry sauce I needed to use up, and I'm very pleased with the way these turned out. I think I would make a bit more of the sugar/flour crumble mix so that there's enough to cover the top, but other than that I thought the recipe was great as written. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I use an 8x11 glass dish which worked really well as the bars turn out a little thicker. I also use one and a half cans of whole cranberry sauce and add walnuts to the topping. A super easy, fast recipe and a hit with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I love! cranberries, but they are not available fresh in South Africa. Accordingly, I used two tins of whole cranberry sauce (not many whole ones in there!), and mixed it with 1,5 cups of dried cranberries which I had soaked in water for a while. Because I like them tart (like the fresh ones), I added a bit of lemon juice. Other than this, I made exactly as given, but did double the amount in order to make two cake tins full as it is Christmas time and so nice to have something to give away. My husband and I both love the taste, and I feel very impressed with the way they came out. Will absolutely be making again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Made with jellied cranberry sauce.The cake/crumble was rather dry and not very tasty/flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe is great! I have several ways to add to it. I always add white chocolate chip on the top crumble layer. I've also added oats, and coconut flakes. Every single way i make it it gets even more delicious. I rated this 4 stars because i feel the cranberry sauce isn't what tastes best in this recipe(although ''healthiest'') I've added strawberry jam, raspberry jam and blackberry jam and it tastes way better than with the cranberry sauce. But for something that doesn't make me feel as guilty i follow this recipe, i just add things when i want to treat myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phoebe.newman.85
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
LOVE THESE. So simple and yet so delicious. I've made them with dried, fresh and canned and they all turned out the same amazing way. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe.newman.85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I used 1cup of white and 1 cup wheat flour, and added some fresh blueberries to the cranberry sauce. it is so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aserrano
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Just made it, was very happy with how it came out and tastes. This will definitely be going into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I found this recipe a month ago, and it instantly has become a family favorite, not to mention an instant sensation when I bring it to gatherings. Do yourself a big favor and put some printed copies in your purse! I have to laugh at myself because although I bake using whole wheat flour most of the time...you know...trying to keep the family healthy, I use butter instead of margarine for the squares, and let me tell you, my two son's coming running to the kitchen when they smell the butter! However, I did use 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and it turns out great. I love this recipe because our family does not have a "sweet tooth" and it is just right. Ok, maybe it's the gardener in me, but I'm used to getting my fingers into the earth, and I found right off the bat that to make crumbs for this recipe, I was just going to dive in and work the butter and the dry ingredients with all ten fingers. Tada!! Also, a little hint to make the cranberry sauce spreadable. While still in the can, take a fork and squish it, scooping the softened sauce on the crust. When I'm grocery shopping now, I make it a point to stop by the canned cranberries to see if they are on sale! I'm sure this recipe will be a favorite for a long time. Thanks! Margie Bayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Remind me of the pastry at Jamba Juice!! I love the crust. We added some granola into the top layer for an added crunch. Loved it!!! Oh and instead of canned cranberry sauce we used fresh cranberry sauce we made! Great recipe!!! Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States