Cranberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good but not simple to make. Not for me at least. I'm not good at making "crumbles" so it took me a lot longer than it should. I doubled that part of the recipe to make sure the bottom was well covered as well as the top. I'm pleased I made that decision, it was tasty and the appearance was well put together. As a matter of fact I doubled the entire recipe. I ended up using two cans of cranberry sauce; one jellied and one jellied with whole berries. I apologize for reviewing the recipe in spite of my alterations but I figured it was alright seeing how I used the same ingredients, just more of them, lol. I did, however, make an orange/pecan glaze when it was all said and done and it was a great compliment to the cake. (My orange glaze: confec sugar, orange zest & juice, & pecan pieces)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Absolutely addictive! My husband and I loved it! I made homemade cranraspberry sauce and had a ton left over so I made this...Now I'll be making cranberry sauces just so I can make this!!! I made everything as instructed for the bottom layer but added brown sugar and cinnamon for top crumbs. (I shared some with a few students and they loved it too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
So delicious, and so easy to make! I used butter, and love the rich flavor of it, blended with the sweet/tart flavor of cranberries. I used whole cranberry sauce, and a little more of it, in order to evenly coat the crust. I'm wondering if making half again as much of the dough, and making the bottom crust a little thicker, might not be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These turned out really good however I did make a few changes to "healthy" them up a bit. I used around 6 tablespoons of butter (about 1/2 the amount the recipe calls for) and after cutting that in, I used around 1/2 C of apple sauce and cut that in also. Doing it this way didn't require an egg as the applesauce added enough moisture. I pre-baked the bottom layer for 10 minutes before adding the cranberry sauce I made. I baked for 30 minutes after adding the sauce and top layer. In a nutshell...delicious!!! BTW, the filling can really be just about anything from jam to preserves to a thick fruity sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I found this recipe a month ago, and it instantly has become a family favorite, not to mention an instant sensation when I bring it to gatherings. Do yourself a big favor and put some printed copies in your purse! I have to laugh at myself because although I bake using whole wheat flour most of the time...you know...trying to keep the family healthy, I use butter instead of margarine for the squares, and let me tell you, my two son's coming running to the kitchen when they smell the butter! However, I did use 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and it turns out great. I love this recipe because our family does not have a "sweet tooth" and it is just right. Ok, maybe it's the gardener in me, but I'm used to getting my fingers into the earth, and I found right off the bat that to make crumbs for this recipe, I was just going to dive in and work the butter and the dry ingredients with all ten fingers. Tada!! Also, a little hint to make the cranberry sauce spreadable. While still in the can, take a fork and squish it, scooping the softened sauce on the crust. When I'm grocery shopping now, I make it a point to stop by the canned cranberries to see if they are on sale! I'm sure this recipe will be a favorite for a long time. Thanks! Margie Bayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was looking for something to do with leftover homemade cranberry sauce, came across this recipe and was impresses with the outcome. The only change I made was to add some quick cook oats to the top layer to make it more like a cereal bar. That worked out very well, but I am sure that the recipe would be great untouched. I took them to work and they were gone within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These were ok. I was expecting something more buttery, crisp and shortbread-like, but the crumb mixture on this was very soft and quick bread textured, I think because of the egg. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe for the random can of cranberry sauce I had in my pantry. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and you could probably use cake mix instead if it's on hand. Overall, they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a super way to use up leftover cranberry sauce (canned or homemade) from the holidays. While flavorful plain, these little squares could stand up to the addition of a few chopped walnuts or almonds for some added crunch. Oh, for easy removal, line the pan with foil (spray with non-stick spray) with enough overhang so when cool, just lift out of pan, peel back foil and cut into neat little squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
OMG what a wonderful snack. This will become one of my many favorite desserts for my family.VERY YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States