Cranberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I went with the suggestion of using 1/2 whole wheat flour. I didn't have any cranberry sauce so I took a bag of fresh cranberries, 1 cup sugar and 3/4 cup water and slow cooked on the stove until cranberries popped and mixture thickened(about 15 min) and let it cool a bit. Very easy and yummy!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Vermont, USA
Living In: East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made the recipe just as written and it was very good. I will try it again with jams or preserves as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Totally awesome!! I used jellied cranberry sauce from a can and just mixed it very well, then after it was cool I used a cookie cutter to cut out snowflakes for my christmas party, served with coffee and hot chocolate It was a total hit !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftyb-fly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe although I had a little problem with the dough being a little stickier than I wanted after adding the egg. I also blended 2oz of softened cream cheese with my cranberry sauce and sprinkled a little bit of white sugar over the top crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
There doesn't seem to be enough batter to spread over the bottom or top; so I followed another suggestion to double the batch; however this was too much and threw off the balance of the cake and the jelly filling. I would say stick with the original and it would turn out a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These turned out really good however I did make a few changes to "healthy" them up a bit. I used around 6 tablespoons of butter (about 1/2 the amount the recipe calls for) and after cutting that in, I used around 1/2 C of apple sauce and cut that in also. Doing it this way didn't require an egg as the applesauce added enough moisture. I pre-baked the bottom layer for 10 minutes before adding the cranberry sauce I made. I baked for 30 minutes after adding the sauce and top layer. In a nutshell...delicious!!! BTW, the filling can really be just about anything from jam to preserves to a thick fruity sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. Just make sure your butter is not refrigerator hard. I used homemade cranberry sauce. I WILL be making this again. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Terrific, tangy cranberry bars. I cut the recipe in half because I only had a cup of cranberry sauce leftover to use up. I also added some pecans to the topping. These are perfect bars for the fall months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CZAnna
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. All I had was a can of cranberries left so I did not measure how many cups exactly but the can loooked like it was about 2 cups. Besides, I love cranberries! I did bake it in a smaller round dish and so it turned out a bit thicker. Very moist but still a crumbly crust... perfect texture. This was my first time making crumblies and I think the secret was to just put my hands directly in the dough. It did get trickier once the egg was added but it still came out great. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
pretty good. The family cleaned their plates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States