Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I was affraid the circles were to liquidy but the final result turned out perfect. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I am one of the worse cooks/bakers out there. I made this recipe because I love scones. Next time, I will not add the nutmeg as it was too spicy for me. Otherwise, I added a little more cinnamon and wow! What a hit. I took the batter out of the mixer and placed on a floured counter - pat it down to about 1in. Took a round biscuit cutter and made these to look like a restaurant. The flavor was perfect - great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleShops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've never had sconed before, so I didn't really know what to expect, but I think they turned out well. The orange zest is really important, and I topped with 'Simple Orange Glaze' from this site, which gave them the extra sweetness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
VERY GOOD as the recipe is. I made two circles over a baking sheet, mark the sections with a knife and put them in the oven. At 3/4 baking time cut wedges all the way through and brushed tops with 2 tablespoons of the cream/egg mix. I happen to have some bittersweet ganache leftover, took scones out of the oven and just for fun drizzle half with the chocolate... My family and I found that this little addition improves and enhance the flavors to make them EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good, light scones. I substituted half o fthe white flour for wheat, and used 3/4 c. heavy cream, plus a little whole milk since it was too dry with the cream, and sprinkled some sugar on top before baking. I prefer fresh cranberries in bread and dried in scones for the sweetness, so I will likely go back to my old recipe, but this one's in the file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were such a delicious treat. We threw in craisins because I didn't have enough cranberries and they were just as yummy, a bit sweeter. I used a basic sugar glaze recipe and did some zigzags to make them look pretty and a bit sweeter, cause I have a sweet tooth. Everyone loved them, and they looked expensive like they came right out of Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Serve these bad boys warm with some lemon curd spread on top and their pretty good. Would give it 5 stars, but we aren't real big scone fans and jsut made them for dad and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These scones are DELICIOUS. I may have changed the recipe enough that I can't give an honest rating/review, but I still highly recommend it. I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg, dried cranberries instead of fresh, and I omitted the nuts. I didn't have an orange or half-and-half on hand, and ended up using orange yogurt and a splash of milk (until the texture was dough-like) in place of them. I also baked them as drop scones rather than fighting the dough into shape. My husband and I both love them and will likely be making another batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Super scone easy to make loved it. Added an orange glaze to the top and got a big smile from my son who is a die hard starbucks cranberry orange scone fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These were a very bad thing for my family to have discovered. They are not overly sweet, which I love, and they are addictive. The only change I made to this was to dribble on a little orange glaze over the top of the warm scones, and I think it really finished them off nicely. They remind me of Christmastime. And it helps that my kids eat the heck out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States