Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wow, these were really good! My family loved them and they don't normally like scones. I didn't have half and half so I used a half cup of milk instead. The batter was still very moist so I added an extra 1/4 c of flour to coat it. Also didn't use the nuts or orange zest. These were really moist, which I liked. Next time I think I will try blueberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Good scones, I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was way too sticky as others have mentionned. I did need to add more flour. Very good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is by far, my favorite scone recipe!! I think the key to this recipe is letting the dough rest in the refrigerator for 1/2-1 hr. This made my scones really light and fluffy! As most have done, I've tweaked the recipe according to my own taste. This includes just 3/4 cups of craisins (fresh cranberries are hard to find year round, and 1 cup of craisins was just a little much for me), and a little over 1/4 cup of brown sugar (for the scones to be a little more sweet). The stickiness of the dough doesn't bother me b/c I end up not having to kneed it. Instead, I slowly pour in the cream and egg mixture while using a spatula to mix everything in until it's moist/sticky. I usually end up not using all of the cream/egg mix, and use the rest as a glaze for the scones. Then I top off the glaze w/ a sprinkle of sugar. =) Compared to other scone recipes that I've seen, this is a really healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made these on the weekend. I too had to add extra flour. They were nice but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
After reading the reviews on this recipe, I reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup and used dried cranberries. The dough was a bit sticky, but didn't take too much to hand pat out into the 6 inch circles with a floured board after coating them witha bit of flour. The end result was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These taste fantastic!! I ended up making them with yogurt (vanilla) instead of the half and half. The flavor was great. The dough was a little loose so I worked it a little too much...next time I'll know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took these to a pre-Christmas celebration and I got rave reviews ("best scones I've ever tasted" from my mom!). For those that complain the batter is to runny, make sure to beat your cream and egg for awhile, do not just mix it. I had no problem kneading the dough or shaping it to cut perfect looking scones. I used craisins and toped with Orange Glaze 1 from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. Used craisins since I didn't have fresh cranberries on hand. We enjoyed them for breakfast this week. Will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Just as the other reviewers said, a little extra flour makes these scones absolutely delicious! I'll be making these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was my first time ever making scones. I appreciated the ease of the recipe and the simplicity of the incredients (everything almost always in my pantry). The only change I made was using dried cranberries as that is what I had on hand. The only thing preventing me from giving this recipe five stars is the fact that the dough was extremely sticky and difficult to handle and I had to flour both my hands and the board more than "lightly" in order to make the rounds and cut them into wedges. That done, they baked up perfectly: Not at all dry/crumbly and were very flavorful. My sister and I enjoyed them with our after-dinner coffee. Will definitely be making these again in the near future. Thanks, Cristina Gomez, for this wonderful scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States