Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I have now made this a couple of times and love it! Great reviews from those who tired them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
They taste really good, but they were a mess before they baked. They were way too sticky, so I added flour so I could handle them and get them onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I followed the recipe (almost) exactly, adding a bit more fresh cranberries (half of a small bag) and a bit more chopped walnuts (about 3/4 cup). The dough was sticky, but not so much that it couldn't be folded over on itself in a light kneading on a board with about 1 tsp. of flour. I topped the scones with coarse sugar before baking rather than make a frosting to drizzle on. I highly recommend this recipe. The additional cranberries and walnuts ensure some in every bite. Delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious...really good recipe! I didn't use nutmeg or nuts and I brushed the tops with milk and sprinkled with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Omitted orange zest and nuts... not bad. not fantastic. might be better with omitted items. Would make again but change a few. liquids ARE off... I think you are supposed to add until a dough forms and not add all. added more flour until I reached a bread like consistency and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and I'm making another batch today! They are really delicious. Yes, the dough is a bit sticky, but the finished product is slightly moist, not like some scones that are almost too dry to swallow. I avoided actually adding more flour to the mixture, but I did dip my fingers in flour before trying to pat each half of the dough into a flat circle. That seemed to work fine as far as making the dough a little easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These are really really good. I used them for catering an office meeting and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
A lovely, soft scone. The batter was definitely softer than "kneadable", so I just dropped it in mounds onto the baking sheet and flattened them a bit. The flavor is great- the citrus really compliments the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These are great! I followed the original recipe and the dough was PERFECT! Not too sticky or too dry. The taste is out of this world and I am going to try the orange glaze on a few to see how that is. They are just fine without though. Can't wait to try the recipe with different extras as suggested in other reviews. This a real keeper ....soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
A word of warning to viewers... don't substitute orange extract for the orange zest. I was out of oranges so I decided to use orange extract. The alcohol reacted with something in the recipe and the dough turned a bluish-green color. The scones tasted ok, but they were so hideous colored that I had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States