Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
The recipe needs a bit more flour than is recommended. I had to add about 1/2 cup. The results were great, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
i had to substitute cherries for cranberries because in the winter my grocery store has very limited fruit supply. also, i had to add flour because when i added the cream and egg it didn't quite make a 'dough'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
taste like muffins - good flavor and lot's of crunchy outside. had to add more flour, it was like the ratio was wrong because the dough was way too sticky to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
These scones are really good. I needed to add about 1/2c more flour, and I substituted dried cranberries for the fresh, and they were exceptionally good. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I never made scones before, but I found the dough to be a bit fussy. I had to add more flour to make it a workable dough to roll. I rolled it into a 10 inch circle and cut it into 12 wedges with a pizza cutter. I added cinnamon instead of nutmeg. The scones had nice texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I substituted 1/2 cup plain yogurt for the half and half cream so they were not a liquidy as some people may have found. I also added white chocolate to the center. My roomates can't wat until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
As other people mentioned, I had to add some extra flour because the dough was too sticky. I also used dried cranberries (5 ounce bag) as fresh ones were out of season. I added a little water to the dried cranberries so that the sugar would stick. The scones turned out better than I thought they would as I was scraping the still sticky dough off my counter. My brother, who is quite stingy with compliments, said "they were good," which is top rating coming from him. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
VERY delicious and they come out looking and tasting like I hoped! And fun to make! I took another reviewers advice and used a small containor of plain yogurt and it was great. Dough will be sticky, so have extra flour on the side for your board, hands and utensils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My husband loved these. Scones were wonderful, very hard not to eat too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
We're big scones fans around here and these were excellent. I did add a touch more flour, though scones make a sticky dough. I also drizzled an orange glaze over them when slightly cooled to make them like the ones we get at Starbucks! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States