Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Very good; I served them at a group function and they were quickly gobbled up. I added 1/4 c. extra flour based on reviewer suggestions, but this did make the dough thick/dry enough that I had to knead a couple of times to thoroughly mix ingredients. I used dried cranberries too and substituted white chocolate chips for the walnuts. I plan to make another batch this week and I'm thinking of adding a little glaze on the top to make them more dessert-y. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was my first attempt at making scones and it seemed to turn out pretty good. The scones were well liked by everyone...including the one baking them. Didn't make any changes to the recipe. A good recipe for the cranberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this recipe for a Christmas Breakfast. They turned out really well. I didn't use half-and-half because I didn't have any on hand, so I used about a half cup of 2% milk. I used dried cranberries instead of real ones because the flavor isn't as bitter and is more sweet. I didn't have to mix them with water as one person did, since the sugar seemed to stick pretty well. I skipped out on the walnuts. Overall it is really good recipe and most everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I added more flour, just as others have mentioned. I also doubled the amount of cranberries called for and tripled the orange zest. I didn't include the nuts. I was worried that I had overdone it, but they actually came out really well. I don't like it when scones are too thick, so I was happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuba City, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Great recipe but I did make some changes. I used heavy cream (only because I had some that needed using up) I used white chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Do not overmix or knead the dough. I simply grabbed a blob (2 tablespoons or more) and plopped them onto a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious! Worked out great, the first batch was gone right out of the oven, so I had to make a second batch on the same day. Used dried cranberries and omitted the white sugar, and mixed 1 3/4 c white flour with 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These were better than I was expecting... I was thinking way to much sugar and liquid; but wanted to give it a try anyway. I only needed 1/4 c more flour to get the dough to a good scone consistency. I did brush a little half and half on the top to help w/ the browning. To get the proper thickness I was only able to pat out into one 8" round and cut out 8 scones. Not sure I will make again, I don't feel the brown sugar added enough "umph" to make it worth changing from my normal cranberry scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
delicious. whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
A great addition to any recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States