Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I wasn't able to roll out the dough because it was too sticky. I just dropped them out in rounded heaps and they turned out great! Very yummy and the recipe couldn't be easier.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These tasted good but they turned out pretty ugly. The dough was way to wet to roll out, flatten or cut. I ended up baking them in globs and they flattened out and looked like big cookies. Also I didn't have quite enough crasins so I threw in 1/2 cup or so of frozen bluberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good! I've made a lot of scones, and these are some of the best. I didn't have half-n-half, so substituted milk with a little heavy cream, but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. I made these 3 days ago, and they are still soft and moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Best scone recipe I've tried...and I've tried a bunch of them! Very light...not as heavy and "biscuity" as most..Our favorite so far! Wonderful with a cup of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is so good! I didn't have half and half so I substituted 1/3 heavy cream and 2/3 buttermilk and it was perfect. I had to bake them a little longer (10 minutes) but I think that's because I used a stone instead of a sheet pan. Anyway, the texture was perfect. The dough was a little sticky, but I added 1/4 cup more flour and it made it more manageable (but still sticky enough!). YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made these for Christmas morning and my parents loved them! The were fluffy and tender. In place of the half and half I used 1/2 cup of lowfat plain yogurt and 1/4 cup 2% milk.. I thought this gave a good consistency - the dough was a bit wet but it formed into circles easily enough. Also, I made 8 larger scones instead of twelve, partly because I did not realize quite how much they would rise and expand when baked. I would definitely recommend using a large cookie sheet and leaving ample room in between the scones. Parchment paper made for easy cleanup. Overall, a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Made these scones for Thanksgiving and was thankful that I did. Thye were wonderful. I did not knead by hand as they were kind of sticky I just mixed in the bowl until they were combined but not over worked. I did not add extra flour as I did not want them to be to tough. This recipe is perfect and you get a nice fluffy scone that is not as dense and others I have tried. For the others that complained that this dough was to sticky you dont want a heavy scone and this is not heavy and yes it does spread when you bake it. if you use two cookie sheets and place the dough on it and shape it with your spatula they do turn out perfect. The only change I made was to use lemon zest as I did not have any oranges. I have tried other recipes that use lemon with cranberries instead of orange and it is a nice surprise when you bite into it and get the refreshing lemon burst. Loved these so much I am making another batch right now. This will be the only scone recipe I will use. Despite a few of the low ratings this really is the best scone recipe. The only thing I can say is that they bake much better in a gas oven than electric. I have used both and they seem to spread more in an electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I have no idea how these taste, as they are still in the oven. I wish I had read these reviews first; I usually do that. The dough was wayyyyy too sticky. So I figured I'd do drop scones instead of rolling them out. I have made scones that way before. Well, these are in the oven and are all spread out. I'm sure these need at least 1/4 to 1/4 cup more of flour. What a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty D Heyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These are good scones, but I'll make a few modifications next time around. As with other reviewers, the dough ended up WAY too sticky. I ended up using much more flour just to handle it. I may try the yogurt suggestion next time. The taste though is very good, and they ended up nice and moist with a nice burst of that tart/sweet cranberry in there. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zuan
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are delicious! They turned out just as I had hoped - not too sweet, not too heavy, and with a great balance of orange and cranberry. I enjoy having one large scone for breakfast so after dividing the dough into half I cut only four wedges, not six. I also sprinkled a touch of cane sugar on the top of each and baked them for 18 minutes. They came out perfect! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States