Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent!!! This will be used many more times!! Easy to make. I substituted cinnamon for nutmeg & left out the nuts (finicky husband!) I also squeezed the juice from the orange & added that as part of the ¾ cup half & half. Mine seemed more like a muffing top then scones, maybe cause mine were WAY to sticky to knead. So I just uses about a ¼ cup scoop. Baked them on parchment paper for 18 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allymarin
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe! My mom is a big scone fan so I whipped these up for Mother's Day morning w/ some butter and preserves. She loved them! I didn't have fresh cranberries on hand so I used dried cranberries, and I also did not have any half & half so I used about 1/2 c plain yogurt & some nonfat milk. I decided to spoon the batter into heart-shaped muffin tins and they turned out super cute. I lightly patted the dough into the tins w/ a bit of water on my fingertips, it helped keep the dough from sticking on my hands. Definitely a keeper recipe I will be making again, maybe next time w/ chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allymarin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Nice flavor...had to add extra flour because the dough was very sticky. I ended up dropping them by large spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet because the dough was much too wet to roll or form into circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I have not had much experience with scones but, we loved these, they were melt in your mouth yummy not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I was affraid the circles were to liquidy but the final result turned out perfect. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I am one of the worse cooks/bakers out there. I made this recipe because I love scones. Next time, I will not add the nutmeg as it was too spicy for me. Otherwise, I added a little more cinnamon and wow! What a hit. I took the batter out of the mixer and placed on a floured counter - pat it down to about 1in. Took a round biscuit cutter and made these to look like a restaurant. The flavor was perfect - great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleShops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've never had sconed before, so I didn't really know what to expect, but I think they turned out well. The orange zest is really important, and I topped with 'Simple Orange Glaze' from this site, which gave them the extra sweetness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
VERY GOOD as the recipe is. I made two circles over a baking sheet, mark the sections with a knife and put them in the oven. At 3/4 baking time cut wedges all the way through and brushed tops with 2 tablespoons of the cream/egg mix. I happen to have some bittersweet ganache leftover, took scones out of the oven and just for fun drizzle half with the chocolate... My family and I found that this little addition improves and enhance the flavors to make them EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good, light scones. I substituted half o fthe white flour for wheat, and used 3/4 c. heavy cream, plus a little whole milk since it was too dry with the cream, and sprinkled some sugar on top before baking. I prefer fresh cranberries in bread and dried in scones for the sweetness, so I will likely go back to my old recipe, but this one's in the file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were such a delicious treat. We threw in craisins because I didn't have enough cranberries and they were just as yummy, a bit sweeter. I used a basic sugar glaze recipe and did some zigzags to make them look pretty and a bit sweeter, cause I have a sweet tooth. Everyone loved them, and they looked expensive like they came right out of Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States