Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
After reading the reviews on this recipe, I reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup and used dried cranberries. The dough was a bit sticky, but didn't take too much to hand pat out into the 6 inch circles with a floured board after coating them witha bit of flour. The end result was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These taste fantastic!! I ended up making them with yogurt (vanilla) instead of the half and half. The flavor was great. The dough was a little loose so I worked it a little too much...next time I'll know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took these to a pre-Christmas celebration and I got rave reviews ("best scones I've ever tasted" from my mom!). For those that complain the batter is to runny, make sure to beat your cream and egg for awhile, do not just mix it. I had no problem kneading the dough or shaping it to cut perfect looking scones. I used craisins and toped with Orange Glaze 1 from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. Used craisins since I didn't have fresh cranberries on hand. We enjoyed them for breakfast this week. Will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Just as the other reviewers said, a little extra flour makes these scones absolutely delicious! I'll be making these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was my first time ever making scones. I appreciated the ease of the recipe and the simplicity of the incredients (everything almost always in my pantry). The only change I made was using dried cranberries as that is what I had on hand. The only thing preventing me from giving this recipe five stars is the fact that the dough was extremely sticky and difficult to handle and I had to flour both my hands and the board more than "lightly" in order to make the rounds and cut them into wedges. That done, they baked up perfectly: Not at all dry/crumbly and were very flavorful. My sister and I enjoyed them with our after-dinner coffee. Will definitely be making these again in the near future. Thanks, Cristina Gomez, for this wonderful scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just awesome! We loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made ½ batch with frozen cranberries. Wonderful! The 2 of us ate it all in one sitting. I had white sugar throughout, omitted the nutmeg and orange zest, and used a combination of whipping cream and sour cream for the ½ & ½. Next time I'd like to try it with either less sugar &/or more cranberries, and perhaps some oats. Dough was very sticky but I took handfuls, flattened into rounds and patted flour onto both sides before placing onto baking sheet. Delicate & tasty scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I loved these. I made them essentially the way the recipe called for, but I added a few drops of lemon extract and orange glaze. I counter acted the stickiness others reported by rounding the flour measurements. My king never had scones before. He ate them all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Just baked these today! I used frozen cranberries and substituted plain yogurt for the cream. I ended up needing to add an entire extra cup of flour because following the recipe exactly gave me soupy "dough." I also made a tasty glaze for them using powdered sugar and orange juice squeezed from the orange used for zest. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States