Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were very delicious. I used an ice cream scoop to portion out the dough instead of forming it into circles and cutting it. I ended up with 8 scones this way and plan to use a smaller scoop next time and shorten the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this recipe after reading the reviews, so I added an extra 1/2 stick of butter and half cup of flour, also substituted frozen blueberries for cranberries. They were still too sticky to knead, so I just formed the dough into 2 circles on a cookie sheet and cut into triangles. Absolutely not a scone, but a tasty cross between a muffin and a cake. We liked them as they were tasty, but the texture was simply not sconelike at all. I'm still looking for a wonderful scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wow, these were really good! My family loved them and they don't normally like scones. I didn't have half and half so I used a half cup of milk instead. The batter was still very moist so I added an extra 1/4 c of flour to coat it. Also didn't use the nuts or orange zest. These were really moist, which I liked. Next time I think I will try blueberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Good scones, I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was way too sticky as others have mentionned. I did need to add more flour. Very good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is by far, my favorite scone recipe!! I think the key to this recipe is letting the dough rest in the refrigerator for 1/2-1 hr. This made my scones really light and fluffy! As most have done, I've tweaked the recipe according to my own taste. This includes just 3/4 cups of craisins (fresh cranberries are hard to find year round, and 1 cup of craisins was just a little much for me), and a little over 1/4 cup of brown sugar (for the scones to be a little more sweet). The stickiness of the dough doesn't bother me b/c I end up not having to kneed it. Instead, I slowly pour in the cream and egg mixture while using a spatula to mix everything in until it's moist/sticky. I usually end up not using all of the cream/egg mix, and use the rest as a glaze for the scones. Then I top off the glaze w/ a sprinkle of sugar. =) Compared to other scone recipes that I've seen, this is a really healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made these on the weekend. I too had to add extra flour. They were nice but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
After reading the reviews on this recipe, I reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup and used dried cranberries. The dough was a bit sticky, but didn't take too much to hand pat out into the 6 inch circles with a floured board after coating them witha bit of flour. The end result was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These taste fantastic!! I ended up making them with yogurt (vanilla) instead of the half and half. The flavor was great. The dough was a little loose so I worked it a little too much...next time I'll know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took these to a pre-Christmas celebration and I got rave reviews ("best scones I've ever tasted" from my mom!). For those that complain the batter is to runny, make sure to beat your cream and egg for awhile, do not just mix it. I had no problem kneading the dough or shaping it to cut perfect looking scones. I used craisins and toped with Orange Glaze 1 from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. Used craisins since I didn't have fresh cranberries on hand. We enjoyed them for breakfast this week. Will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States